stripey & strappy

July 14, 2011 at 8:06 pm 10 comments

Sometimes when I’m bored, I go to Target. Terrible habit. But it’s a 5-minute walk from my apartment! So last night, when my plans were in flux, I walked in for no reason and walked out $93 poorer. Oops.

But I also walked out with this little number:

Draped Double Layer Tank Dress (Grey/Pebble): Mossimo (size M). It mystified me on the hanger, what with its curious double layer/tank lining, but trying it on was a pleasant surprise – especially considering the stripes… cuz that’s a lotta stripes.

Here you can see the draping/tank layer a bit better. This dress is SO unbelievably comfortable. And a decent length. And price. I’ve got hips, so I was a bit unsure about it, but the waist and the drape and gather of the skirt was also pretty flattering. Plus I think it’ll be really versatile.

I dressed it up with my snazzy strappy heels:

The Söfft Rachelle sandal.

And a gorgeous,colorful necklace:

Ann Taylor Loft, a while back. This was a steal. I had been eyeing all the orange-pink ribboned jewelry for some time, but it was all like $36 minimum. I think this one was maybe even $48. Never. No way, not for plastic and ribbon, sorry. But it went on clearance, and I happened to stumble in right as it was something like an extra 40% off of clearance. Score!

How about you – find any awesome deals lately?

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

big style, small price Kris Allen likes my shirt.

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauren White  |  July 14, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Banana republic on michigan ave had 40% off of their clearance last week…I walked out with a few hundred dollars of clothes for $60! I was in heaven.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  July 14, 2011 at 8:22 pm

      agh! amazing! I try to avoid Banana because of the prices, but it sounds like I should have checked it out this time. Glad you got some steals!

      Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  July 15, 2011 at 6:14 am

    So cute Cara!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  July 15, 2011 at 8:06 am

      why thank you :)

      Reply
  • 5. Amelia  |  July 19, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    I haven’t found any deals because I’m not supposed to be shopping… but I do love Sofft for cute and COMFY heeled sandals, I see you’ve found them too!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  July 19, 2011 at 11:14 pm

      yes! there are some seriously cute ones if you look.

      Reply
  • 7. Whitney  |  July 25, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    I have that same little bad habit–and I often come out with a light wallet and slightly confused as to how I spent as much as I did!

    Love the dress–that necklace is a great statement piece with it!
    Whitney

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  August 3, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      oh Target, ever the temptress! and thank you!

      Reply
  • 9. browneheather  |  September 28, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    I TRIED THIS ON AND DID NOT HAVE THE SAME RESULT. I believe I uttered profanity at the dress, the double-layer drapes, the mirror, etc. And then bought something else (equally cute).
    :)

    Reply
    • 10. Cara  |  October 3, 2011 at 2:09 pm

      It’s totally tricky, for sure! It really depends on the day – sometimes I think it looks great; sometimes… well, sometimes I have the same reaction you did! :) glad you were able to walk out with something cute, though!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,358 hits since 12/29/2009

