big style, small price

July 11, 2011 at 10:52 am 8 comments

What’s this, another blog post? To think I used to do it nearly every day… but summer is a busy time. The last week or so has been a blur – but a fun, sunny, musical blur (U2! pool party! shopping! grilling!), so I’m definitely not complaining.

As a thanks for hooking her up with U2 tickets, my friend Andrea bought me this dress from H&M when we were walking around State St. the day after the concert:

Such a fun print and color palette, right? The best part? It was $15.

It’s actually more orange than red in person. Plus it has that wonderfully stretchy elastic back, which makes it super comfy (size 8).

And it’s not even too short! This is a miracle for me, especially at H&M, where everything just seems a bit smaller (or simply regularly sized, rather than vanity sized).

Uh, I was trying to show the little side bow… but it blends into the dress too much. Oops!

Raffia wedges: Old Navy (size 9 – very true to size). I am in LOVE with these and ended up using my Old Navy Groupon to buy them, so they felt like an even better deal. I’ve also never had any shoes with ribbons that tie – a look I’ve always thought was particularly cute and feminine. The ribbon makes them interesting to walk in, meaning they sometimes slid off the heel a bit, so I put some heel liners in, which made it all work a little better.

Bracelet: also H&M from Andrea, earrings: New York & Co., years ago, wishbone charm: Viv & Ingrid. Still adjusting to the hair. It’s a bit flippy today.

I feel like this look shows that you really can get a chic, stylish look from affordable big box stores like H&M and Old Navy. At least, I felt summery and chic before work today.

And then I got caught in a monsoon. Not kidding.

Ok, so it was probably just a thunderstorm if you want to get technical about it. But I was soaked! Good thing I have proof that I didn’t actually look like a drowned rat this morning when I left, right?

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

watermelon manicure stripey & strappy

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heather/H&K Style Journey  |  July 11, 2011 at 10:53 am

    WOW! That dress is gorgeous! Love the shoes too :)

    Summertime is a busy time, sounds like you are having fun.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  July 11, 2011 at 11:01 am

      Thanks so much! I couldn’t believe how cheap it was. Hopefully the price won’t reflect the quality, and I’ll be able to wear it for at least a few seasons.

      Reply
  • 3. Ysobel  |  July 11, 2011 at 11:03 am

    I love H&M! Super cute :)

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  July 11, 2011 at 11:07 am

      They’re very hit or miss for me, but when they’re a hit, I am always VERY happy! That’s my issue with Zara, which has the same Euro roots – they are hit or miss too, style-wise, but they are way, WAAAAY overpriced for what appears to be very similar quality, and nothing I’ve tried even fits me right. I’ll stick with H&M!

      Reply
  • 5. Mom  |  July 11, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    You look absolutely stunning Cara!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  July 12, 2011 at 8:00 am

      aw, thanks!

      Reply
  • 7. Michelle Prentice  |  July 20, 2011 at 7:06 am

    Love this blog!!!!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  July 23, 2011 at 7:18 pm

      thanks, girl. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

