regina george presents: a Mean Girls birthday party

May 1, 2011 at 10:17 pm 6 comments

My birthday was on April 25, but because it fell on the Monday after Easter weekend, I decided to have my party yesterday. This turned out to be a pretty great decision because instead of it being gross any rainy like the last, oh, I don’t know… 5 years?, it was springy and 69° here in Chicago. Unbelievable!

Also a great decision? I decided to make my party Mean Girls-themed. Yes, theme parties can be cheesy, but I think they’re fun, and I knew my friends would too.

So of course I had to dress in my best Queen Bee Regina George ensemble:

A little bit dramatic – who, me?

After searching the web and finding nothing but crap on CafePress and the like, I ended up making my own Regina “A Little Bit Dramatic” tee on a website my last roommate told me about called CustomizedGirl. I went with the Junior Fit Sheer Longer Scoop Neck Tee in a size L, and – if I’m doing this correctly – you should be able to view, edit, or order my design here. Cardigan is Mossimo from Target; skirt is Tracy Evans Limited. I have no idea where I got the skirt and little recollection as to why, but I got it in college, so I think that probably explains most of it.

Sex-ay black patent cage heels: Söfft.

I grabbed my “C” charm necklace off Amazon (and put it on a better chain), and I also wore my pretty new Lia Sophia “Paris Lights” bracelet that I got as a present from my friends Teri and Leah. Love! Nails: Sally Hansen Complete Manicure in 530 Back to the Fuchsia.

If you’re looking to have your own Mean Girls party, I have a few more suggestions.

1. Make your own Burn Book.

I made mine on Shutterfly. Let your guests do the rest! (But keep it cute.)

2. Bring some little sticker gems, like these from Target. Apply to the décolletage of your guests.

For added accuracy, invite friends whose names begin with K!

And of course…

3. Make your own Kalteen bars.

You never get a great view of the Kalteen bars in the movie, so this just my rough interpretation – with some Google-translated Swedish to boot. If you’d like to print your own stickers, click here to download my pdf (PrintWorks #00680 / Avery 5395 Name Badge Labels). And enjoy!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

a royal wedding party! stop telephonin’ me-eh-eh-eh

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  May 2, 2011 at 1:19 am

    Love it! And the Birthday Burn Book is a nice touch. Happy belated BTW :)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  May 2, 2011 at 9:58 am

      thanks! It was so fetch. ;)

      Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  May 2, 2011 at 5:56 am

    You look fabulous Cara! What a great party theme…looks like everyone had a great time!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  May 2, 2011 at 9:58 am

      thanks, it was definitely fun!

      Reply
  • 5. hi  |  July 25, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Well at my Mean Girls party, we played pin the dog on the boob. diybkwshnroifer yayy! <3 lmao reginaass momm.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  July 30, 2012 at 10:52 am

      haha! great idea!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

