a royal wedding party!

April 30, 2011 at 1:21 am 6 comments

Pip pip cheerio! Did everyone enjoy the Royal Wedding? Or did you just care about letting everyone know how much you don’t care? (Do you want a cookie or something?) Months back, I was like, “Eh, whatever.” But then I realized just how fun and exciting it was gonna be, and I was all for it. In the words of @ecctv, it is just fun, dang. Plus, pop culture and fashion? I had to see it live!

Which is why, after too-short disco naps, Katy and I got up waaaaay too early Friday morning to get ready for my friend Roxanne’s Royal Wedding party.

These photos are some of the most crap-quality ever, but it’s dark out, and did I mention waaaaay too early to be awake?

Oh, don’t mind us, just off to a Royal Wedding party!

Katy borrowed my “Traced Twirls” Anthropologie dress by Girls from Savoy (size 4), while I wore a Nine West dress (size 8) and super cute gloves from Modcloth.

My pink heels: Etienne Aigner. Oh, and I also wore a tiny hat.

So blurry. Sorry! Better shot here. I randomly bought it off eBay for the Mad Tea Party my friends and I never ended up having (was going to wear this whole outfit for that), and I like that it has little clips to secure it to your hair. It was fun, and I don’t even care! I wish hats would make a comeback here. The ones at the wedding were outrageous! I’m also obsessed with fascinators.

WE’RE SO EXCITED! BRING ON THE MIMOSAS!

Roxanne makes mimosas in front of our spread.

Hi, girls!

Oh yes, guests made their own crowns!

Mmm, mimosas! It’s probably… 4am or so?

I was never meant to work. Hah!

DANG!

Smile!

Mmmore mmmimosas!

Pink fit for a princess? Speaking of whom…

Count me as one of the many who LOVED the dress. Designed by Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen, it was the perfect mix of classic and modern. Demure yet elegant – obviously it needed to be a bit more understated than any usual McQueen for such an occasion, but I think the McQueen aesthetic completely comes out in the back.

Also it obviously brings to mind Princess Grace and her dress. Tom and Lorenzo‘s take on this is spot-on:

She knew – they both did – that the ghost of his mother was going to permeate the proceedings. In fact, they invited the comparison in some respects. But just as everyone had that image of Diana in her enormous confection of a dress foremost in their minds, out steps Kate, saying loud and clear, “I don’t want you to compare me to Princess Diana. Compare me to Princess Grace instead.” EVERYONE commenting on the proceedings immediately mentioned the former film star-turned-princess’s name. It rather brilliantly changed the course of the conversation just as the Diana comparisons threatened to overwhelm the day.

Agreed 100%.

And let’s check out her evening look:

MY GOD, does she have perfect hair! (Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge’s response.) I sort of wish she would have worn it up, but when your hair is that great, why bother? I also love her angora bolero. And could her waist be tinier?!

In closing, I leave you with a text I received from my 77-year-old grandmother:

How did you like Kates dress? Two kisses on the balcony… scandalous!
The prince looked yummy!

Ahahahahahha!! Oh Gma, I love you so!! :)

Entry filed under: Events, Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

$36 (faux) leather & lace regina george presents: a Mean Girls birthday party

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzanne  |  April 30, 2011 at 5:37 am

    All day Thursday, I kept trying to tell myself I didn’t give two sh*ts, and then 20/20 had to air a special that had my attention from the first line. Dammit Royal Wedding, why are you so awesome???

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 30, 2011 at 12:39 pm

      Haha, it sucked you in! :D

      Reply
  • 3. Amy B  |  April 30, 2011 at 9:31 am

    I thought I didn’t care. I didn’t actively NOT care like some fun-haters either though. But then I turned on BBC yesterday and had it on all day long and watched the wedding like twice. She looked amaaaazing. I want reception photos!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  April 30, 2011 at 12:40 pm

      Yes, me too! She was just stunning, perfect, flawless, etc!

      Reply
  • 5. kkk  |  April 30, 2011 at 10:56 am

    How do you manage to look so fab at 4 am? I barely made it out of bed and onto the couch. Great post!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  April 30, 2011 at 12:40 pm

      It was really difficult, trust me! Thanks! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,473 hits since 12/29/2009

