braided & bitten

April 15, 2011 at 1:03 am 4 comments

Oh, hello! Let’s skip the I’m-a-bad-blogger part and get right to it, shall we?

My friend Julia invited me to a couple of concerts this week that I probably wouldn’t normally have gotten tickets for: 30 Seconds to Mars and My Chemical Romance – holy guyliner, Batman! But who can resist Jordan Catalano?! And who can turn down free shows? Not this girl!

While I am definitely not the, uh… key audience? for such shows, I thought I’d kinda “rock”-ify my hair a bit.

This is totally rock, right?

Oh, calm down! I would never! But I did decide to go the grade school route of braiding my hair to crimp-curl it up.

I French braided my wet hair, slept on it, and pinned it up for work today. I felt like Heidi and thought it looked totally silly, but it was necessary for the desired effect – yet two coworkers complimented it. Surprising, but I’ll take it!

And when I took it down after work…

Not too shabby! A little unruly and wild at times, but hey, that works. You can also see my beloved tiny gold wishbone charm necklace by Viv & Ingrid that I grabbed off Gilt a while back. I adore it.

Also can’t recommend highly enough Revlon’s Just Bitten lipstain & balm:

Quite a few cosmetics companies are producing lipstains lately, but I decided to try this one since it comes with the marker-like stain on one end and a conditioning balm on the other. So happy I did. When applied correctly, this stuff is AMAZING. I recommend starting by very carefully outlining your lips with the point. Emphasis on carefully. Since it’s a stain, if you mess up, it will not just wipe off. Once I’ve got the outline even and perfect, I then fill in the rest by sort of turning the marker on its side and filling in with just a few “wide” swipes. It helps with even-ness. Also don’t rub your lips together. A simple press of the lips is ok, but don’t rub! I then wait a couple of minutes to make sure the stain has “set” before adding the balm.

Little bits will flake off throughout the day if you’re doing a lot of talking, eating, or drinking, but overall it needs very few touch-ups – often just a fresh coat of balm – and stays on impressively well. See?

I applied this around 6:00 pm, before my concert. I also ate pizza and breadsticks and drank pop. It still looked like this 5 hours later! All I did was reapply the balm a few times. This shade is called Gothic – and I have three others. Passion is the absolute perfect juicy pink for spring/summer. And MATTE! Hallelujah! I’ve been searching high and low for a pink that isn’t SHIMMERY-iridescent, ugh. If anyone has any other matte pink recs, do tell. And if you try Just Bitten, let me know what you think!

Thirty Seconds to Mars definitely put on a theatrical show tonight – excited to experience what Neon Trees and My Chemical Romance have in store next!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Sales, Recs & Likes. Tags: , , , , , .

oscars 2011! $36 (faux) leather & lace

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  April 17, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    You do know you have the most perfect lips…don’t cha?

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 17, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      haha, thanks Mom. :P

      Reply
  • 3. Kelly  |  April 26, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    what color is that?

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  April 26, 2011 at 8:50 pm

      the lipcolor? it’s called Gothic. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

