oscars 2011!

February 28, 2011 at 4:38 pm 6 comments

What a party! A boring show was livened up by a great group of friends for last night’s Academy Awards, and I had so, so, so much fun. Huge shoutout of course to my cohost Lissette, whose beautiful apartment served as party central. We had been prepping, brainstorming, and purchasing for weeks, and it all came together beautifully. But for me, it did not start so beautifully. Ahem:

Yes, I did this on purpose. But it looked good after, I swear!

See? The teasing was necessary! And this updo was accomplished with bobby pins and the following tools:

I really wasn’t sure if they’d work and planned on returning them if they didn’t, but I ended up loving and being impressed by both. The bendini works like this:

Once you snap it, the comb tightens, making your ‘do super secure.

On to the party! The paparazzi welcome you! (How cute is that? Lissette’s building got really into the Oscars too, it seems!)

Oscar bingo & ballots!

Glasses & prizes!

Extremely high-quality trophy. Extremely.

Hello, Oscar hosts! Also who knew Practical Magic would star two Oscar-winners?!

The spread!

How about a bit closer:

Mmmmm! (Click to enlarge.)

Heh. ;)

Now, on to the red carpet!

My fave Betty Draper-esque dress from White House Black Market!

I impulse bought this around Christmas when I had some extra cash. I loved it too much. It wasn’t on the website anymore, and there were only 2 left in store: a 12 or 14 (which doesn’t work in a dress size for me) and a 4. They insisted I try the 4, which surprisingly did fit. Obviously it was a sign I was supposed to have it!

Backseam hose from Nordstrom Rack.

And since those pics are all a bit dark, here’s a better one from Jordan’s phone:

I still failed at getting you any details, though, so click here to see WHBM’s product page and zoom in to see the beautiful pleating.

Heels: Steve Madden.

I loved the beautiful neckline, so I went without a necklace. Just added some dangly earrings that I’ve had forever. No clue where I bought them!

And just a bit more simple jewelry. Nails: Vixen by Revlon.

With fabulous cohost Lissette!

Jordan & Tate!

Dolce & Gabbana. Louis Vuitton. O.M.G.

William waves to his adoring fans!

Brian and Julia. She is wearing a Forever 21 dress, Rampage shoes, Target shrug, and NY & Co. jewelry.

Smiles!

Hot Hollywood couple KEEDREW waves to the crowd!

Almost 12 hours later, and my hair is still going strong! –
if a little frizzy & frazzled by now. :)

Winners!

Andrew won the first bingo basket!

And Jordan won the second!

Tate and Andrew tied for winning ballot, but since Andrew already won, Tate was declared the victor! He got a fabulous trophy and a $10 Target card.

WHEW! What a night!

Lashes off before the clock strikes 12!

As for best dressed, I surprised myself with my preferences! In no particular order:

Hailee Steinfeld in Marchesa. She looked absolutely perfect and pretty and age-appropriate.

Mandy Moore in Monique Lhuillier. This one looked better on camera than in still photos. I have never seen her look this pretty. Her dress was absolutely gorgeous with her skin tone, and her makeup was the perfect complement. (I WANT that lipcolor!) Way to go, Mandy. (Update! Her makeup revealed here!)

This next look may be divisive, but I adored it:

Reese Witherspoon in Armani. This dress immediately made me go “WOW!” She looks amazing, glowing & happy, and the hair is perfect. She looks like a living Barbie, and I mean that as a compliment here.

So bizarre that I chose all neutrals! They definitely ruled the red carpet, along with a lot of red.

As for worst dressed… I’ll just go with disappointments. While I give them props for trying something different and structural, both Cate Blanchett and Nicole Kidman were huge let-downs for me. Our group thought Cate Blanchett’s Givenchy dress looked like a toilet seat on her chest, complete with – ahem – yellow at her neck. And although Tate loved Kidman’s, I was really hoping Nicole would do better than this heavy-looking Christian Dior dress that didn’t really flatter from any angle.

What are your picks? Who was best and worst? Lay it on me!

Images: Google, JustJared
Entry filed under: Events, Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

cheap & cute braided & bitten

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzanne  |  February 28, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Great post! I love your hair and it sounds like you had fun!!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 28, 2011 at 4:51 pm

      thanks, missy! If only we lived closer we could PARTY HARDY YORNY together!

      Reply
  • 3. Jessica  |  March 4, 2011 at 12:15 am

    LOVE your “Betty Draper” dress! The detailing is simply beautiful. I’m impressed with how well your hair held up. I’ve always wanted to do an elegant up-do, but my straight hair tends to slip out of place easily. Mind sharing your technique?

    I too thought Mandy Moore looked stunning. I also loved Ann Hathaway in the white Givenchy and burgundy Versace gowns during the show.

    Reply
    • 4. Jessica  |  March 4, 2011 at 12:25 am

      How could I forget Natalie Portman and her lovely purple dress!

      Reply
    • 5. Cara  |  March 8, 2011 at 11:30 pm

      Thank you! I think you prob just really need to depend on a lot of product. I use an anti-humidity product when it’s wet, then some anti-frizz when it’s dry, and this time around lots of teasing and hairspray (I actually love Tresemme Tres Two, I think it is). And honestly, that Goody updo piece worked AMAZINGLY. My hair doesn’t stay that well usually either. However my head really hurt by the end of the night lol!

      I just ordered Mandy Moore’s lipcolor from NARS. :) Was gonna test it at Macy’s or Sephora, but neither had it, and they suggested I order it in case it’s discontinued. Boo!

      Reply
      • 6. Jenny  |  March 11, 2011 at 4:39 pm

        I wonder why it would be discontinued if it says “NEW for Spring 2011”? Maybe it hasn’t hit the stores yet? Idk.

        Love the hair, I’ve never been able to do stuff like that on myself. Or I’m just lazy :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

