stripes & sparkles

February 6, 2011 at 1:29 pm 8 comments

Why yes, it’s a random post to this neglected little blog!

Last night I met up with my friends Sarah and Amelia (in town from Boston), and it was just SO good to see them. It really made me wish I had more girlfriends in the city. We talk and laugh and get along so easily. Nothing is off limits. I miss them so much. And, as we all said, it’s truly amusing to think that the three of us – once living in a dorm, eating Cheez-Its and watching Days of Our Lives together almost every afternoon – would end up such fabulous city girls 7 years later.

I tried to dress the part of fab city girl anyway!

“Jeggings” (I still shudder at the term): Mossimo (size 13 – just got a new black pair in size 11 since they stretch so much, so quickly), beloved burgandy boots: Fluevog, tank: Mossimo, and the cardigan… oh, the wonderful steal from Ann Taylor Loft (size XSP; no, I’m not extra small, nor am I petite, but it was the only one left, and sweaters stretch). Check out the detail:

Since my friend Jamie owed me a Christmas present (her words, not mine!), we bopped around a bit on Friday before our friend Jon’s birthday party. After mostly striking out at Target, we headed to Evanston to hit up the Loft. They had a lot on sale, and we found a few things, including this sweater, which was marked down to $35. So that was my pick. It rang up at $15. We both looked at each other and then at the saleswoman, who explained their current sale: an extra 60% off clearance items! JACKPOT! Jamie told me to grab the other sweater I had looked at, and she got the same one in different colors (just $12 each). I also picked up 2 of the necklaces that I had been lusting after since Black Friday, originally $45 each, for a total of $28. This may be my best score in a long time. We were both on a shopping high all night. :)

Also trying a bit of a curly-ish ‘do lately:

It’s definitely hit or miss trying to style this, and I’m trying to get more consistent with it, but it’s kinda fun, no?

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Sales, Recs & Likes, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

hair time again cheap & cute

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  February 6, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Your boots look fab with your new sweater! Very cute outfit!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  February 6, 2011 at 10:56 pm

      thanks! was a bit precarious wearing them in the snow-slush, but I survived. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Holly  |  February 6, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    I have those same jeggings and yea, they stretch SO MUCH. I also bought the black pair a size smaller! twinzieees

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  February 6, 2011 at 10:57 pm

      ha! funny! I wore the black ones Friday night and felt a little like a stuffed sausage, so hoping they stretch just as quickly. :)

      Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  February 7, 2011 at 1:50 am

    Cute sweater! I do love a good bargain :)

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  February 8, 2011 at 1:06 am

      thanks! heck yes, they are a definite mood-enhancer for me. :)

      Reply
  • 7. Tosca  |  February 8, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    I think your curls look adorable!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  February 13, 2011 at 12:11 am

      thank you! going to try to replicate them tomorrow… fingers crossed!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,376 hits since 12/29/2009

