walk like an egyptian

January 15, 2011 at 1:16 pm 2 comments

Perhaps now and then you find yourself wondering, “What should I wear to an Egyptian-themed ‘three-quarters birthday’ party (planned only 4 days in advance) for which costumes are ‘strongly-encouraged’?”

Well, I don’t know what you’d wear, but I wore this:

I don’t know why this top (Express: size M) read vaguely Egyptian to me, but I didn’t have a lot to work with. I’d say it’s not bad for 4 days’ notice, right?

Fortunately you can pretty easily pull off a theme if you rock the right hair, makeup, & accessories. Lucky for me, I still had my black Velma Kelly wig from Halloween back in college:

We dressed up as the Chicago trio, and it was awesome.

Here’s a closer shot of my wannabe Cleopatra look:

The earrings and necklace are the same ones I wore on New Year’s Eve (see previous post) from Express, and the little makeshift “crown” or headdress of sorts is actually an old (and I suspect fairly cheap) necklace that I held in place by putting half of it under my (wig) hair and securing it with bobby pins.

As for the eye makeup, my friend Jamie and I mostly used Elizabeth Taylor stills from Cleopatra and a few tips from this blog, so it’s by no means authentic, but it gets the point across:

I did a sparkly gold base on the lid, teal at the crease, and a deep blue all the way up to the brows, which I did especially dramatically. And then of course lots of eyeliner, mascara, and a ton of bronzer to give me that desert glow, while a neutral lip balances the heavy eyes.

Here’s what I used:


1. Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion eyeshadow base in Eden (matte)
2. Gold glitter eyeshadow by Sugar
3. & 4. Cover Girl Eye Brightening Shadow Palette 710: Radiant Blues
5. Cover Girl Perfect Blend Pencil in Basic Black
6. Maybelline Define-A-Lash waterproof mascara in Very Black
7. Cover Girl TruBlend Minerals Mineral Bronzer in 440: Natural Bronze
8. Revlon ColorStay Overtime Sheer Lipcolor in Sheer Champagne

Better view of the shadows:

I’ve had the set the gold is in – Sugar: The Perfect Day eyeshadow set, which was like $5.00 when I bought it – for YEARS. Since college for sure, maybe even high school. But hey, still works!

Jamie tried a few different looks. Unhappy with her first attempt, she started over using some of my shadows in a different order and achieved a super cool result:

Jamie did the full blue across the lid with teal blending up to the brow.

We also put one of my necklaces in her hair for the same type of look.

Cleopatra kisses!

I most definitely did not look like Cleopatra by the end of the night. Taking my makeup off cracked me up too much not to share this:

HA! Oh my. I think I better go sacrifice some cats to the ancient Egyptian gods and pray for a better look tomorrow…

Entry filed under: Events, Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

happy 2011! hair time again

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ysobel  |  January 15, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Cara! You look HOT with black hair!!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  January 16, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      Thanks, Bel! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

