“RUFFLES. LOVE.”

November 20, 2010 at 10:10 pm 7 comments

You gotta love early Christmas presents—

—especially when they involve ruffles.

And shiny buttons!

And sassy swing.

I saw this Xhilaration coat at Target and was immediately drawn to the front ruffle. Then I emailed a picture to my friend J.J., whose opinion on such things I value highly, to get feedback. Her response can be summed up by the two words in the subject line. :) I’d link you to the coat (size M, $69.99), but it doesn’t appear to be on the website yet. In any case, it’s wool, ruffled, and has epaulets, which means it was the perfect present. Thanks, Mom! (Can you believe I didn’t own a black coat before this? You probably can.)

And a joyful jump.

Or two!

Holy moly, how did I get so much air? How was I never a cheerleader?

In other news, I went to an open casting call for extras today for a major movie called Contagion that’s filming in Chicago and the surrounding suburbs.

The film – about a virus outbreak – is directed by Steven Soderbergh (! – Out of Sight is one of my favorite films of all time, and if you haven’t seen it, please add it to your Netflix queue asap), and stars… well, a CRAPLOAD OF A-LISTERS.

Special shoutout to my coworker Catt, who heard from our Starbucks baristas (just across the street from our office) that Kate Winslet had been in recently. This, of course, led to 1) praising goddess Winslet, 2) feverish Googling, and 3) freaking out about the rest of the cast: DAMON! JUDE! GWYNETH! MARION! Once we learned what it was, I was first saddened that they’d already done casting for extras. IF ONLY I HAD KNOWN!, I lamented. But I went ahead and set up some Google alerts. Literally days later, I got a hit for a second casting call!

It was a pretty quick process actually. Yes, that sign is on a dumpster outside of a warehouse. Funny to think a major movie’s casting was done here! They had us fill out cards and bring in a photo of ourselves to attach (or they’d take one for you). The cards had all the standard contact and scheduling info, as well as sections for nationality (Chicago is doubling for some international locations, so if you’re, say, of German heritage, and they’re filming a “Berlin” scene, they might you use) and occupation/job description (if you’re actually an EMT, medic, or firefighter who is used to performing medical procedures or wearing HAZMAT suits, you might have a better chance), among other things.

I really have no idea of my chances and figure it will largely depend on scheduling – though my 9-5 dayjob probably doesn’t give me any advantages there. However, the casting director himself (the one whose name is on the masthead) noted I look like Julia Stiles. I said I’d been told that before, and he said “That’s a good thing.” So hey, fingers crossed! I think they said they’d start calling people Monday. It’s safe to say I want this… pretttttyyy darn badly. But I don’t want to get my hopes up too high. We’ll see! Keep you posted.

Entry filed under: Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

fakesgiving 2010 owl be home for christmas

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  November 21, 2010 at 7:39 am

    The coat looks great, especially with your black boots! I can’t believe you didn’t have a black coat before.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  November 21, 2010 at 12:18 pm

      I thought so too! :) I know. Me and my ~colors. Probably smart to get some not-so-basic black.

      Reply
  • 3. Alicia  |  November 21, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Loooooove it!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  November 21, 2010 at 12:23 pm

      Thanks! :D

      Reply
  • 5. Amy M.  |  November 21, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Love the coat. I hope you get called as an extra! You do look like Julia Stiles. But, woman! Why didn’t you share with us the photo you chose to bring to the casting call? I’m so curious as to what gorgeous shot you chose!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  November 22, 2010 at 11:12 am

      I used this pic:

      cropped from about my waist up.

      No word yet. Mrawr.

      Reply
  • 7. neely  |  November 26, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    good luck, girl! can’t wait to hear what happens. miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

