how to make a care bear costume

October 31, 2010 at 1:08 pm 11 comments

Happy Halloween! It’s been an eventful weekend already, full of shenanigans and dancing and drinks and friends and fun. And I did it all in this:

I give you: Cara the Care Bear!

Cheer Bear, as a matter of fact.

Ok, so it’s a different shade of pink, but finding a pink sweatsuit was more difficult than anticipated. Keep reading to see how I made it and/or scroll to the bottom for a few more finished pics.

First I ordered the sweats from Hanes.com – I got a Medium shirt & Large bottoms, but I could’ve gotten a Medium in both, as they were pretty baggy. Then I picked up the rest of my materials from Michael’s:

First I sketched a circle onto a tee.

Then I cut it out – and I cut both layers of the tee, so that I’d have an extra circle if I messed up.

Next I pencil sketched an arch for the rainbow.

Then I just free-handed the rest of the arches of the rainbow in various colors of fabric puff paint.

After it dried, I filled in each stripe.

I actually got the wrong shade of blue, so I went over it later with a darker, more traditional royal blue. Then I placed the circle on the sweatshirt and marked where it would need to be applied.

Next up: stuffing!

They were out of any small packs of plain old stuffing, so I just bought a tiny pillow to use.

Even had a zipper – easy!

I placed the stuffing inside my markings, but I had a minor panic attack when I realized that the puff of the stuffing would stretch the fabric of the circle a bit, meaning my markings might be visible. Eeeks! I really had to stretch it a lot to make it work and cover my markings. So if you try it, maybe don’t make so many markings – just the top perhaps.

Then I hand-sewed all the way around the circle. Very time-consuming!

Next I went all the way around the edges with some clear glitter puff paint so that the circle would be doubly enforced. I think this was a good idea.

I ironed on a tiny heart patch to the back of my sweats. I could’ve just used paint, but I saw the patch & had to have it.

Then I outlined it in the fabric paint for a little extra sparkle.

Tada! Picked up some slippers and “magic” gloves from Target to make it almost complete.

I ordered my custom pink bear hood from the Etsy shop of raucousgoods. We had some communication issues, and I started to stress when it still wasn’t here the Thursday before Halloween weekend. It finally arrived on Friday – the day of my first party – so I guess all’s well that ends well!

Care Bear power!

Heart bum!

CARE BEAR STARE!

My pink lashes looked great in the blacklight of my Friday night party:

But they were no good for Saturday’s party – I screwed up the application – so I just went with regular heavy eye makeup.

I’ll leave you with a few more pics. :)

Marie Antoinette!

Target sign!

Sonic the Hedgehog!

Mickey Mouse, a pirate, and pretty much THE SCARIEST COSTUME OF ALL TIME: THE SNICKERS LADY.

Hope everyone had a happy and safe Halloween weekend!

Entry filed under: Cara's Guide to..., Events, Misadventures. Tags: , .

back to blonde, part 2 Onitsuka Tigers, oh my!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  October 31, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    You did a fantastic job Cara! Sue just told me Ashley’s boyfriend went as a Care Bear too…the shamrock one!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  October 31, 2010 at 4:57 pm

      Ha! Too funny. Jamie was going to be Good Luck Bear for a while.

      Reply
  • 3. tageborkoff  |  November 1, 2010 at 9:16 am

    I love you, Cara! You just make me so happy!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  November 1, 2010 at 9:18 am

      I love you! ***HUGS*** :)

      Reply
  • 5. Amy M.  |  November 10, 2010 at 6:25 pm

    I love craft project fashion! And the care bears. Though I was most fond of the care bare cousins myself.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  November 11, 2010 at 9:02 am

      I loved the cousins, too! The lion and the raccoon were so cute. :) I had the little figures of a bunch of them, including the raccoon.

      Reply
      • 7. Amy M.  |  November 21, 2010 at 7:15 pm

        Cute! My favorite stuffed animal as a child was a little raccoon that I named Bright heart, though he was just a generic raccoon, not an official Care Bear Cuz or anything. Ah childhood!

  • […] Pic source […]

    Reply
  • […] Kate – 923 hits 3. $30 dye job – 1,003 hits 2. gap city flat – 1,082 hits 1. how to make a care bear costume – 2,388 […]

    Reply
  • 10. Steph  |  November 1, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Love’d ur costume! i copied, i was good luck bear! wish i could show a pic! *cheers*

    Reply
    • 11. Cara  |  November 1, 2011 at 6:52 pm

      oh that’s awesome! I would love to see a photo sometime! Happy Halloween! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

