wear purple for LGBT spirit day!

October 20, 2010 at 10:11 am 6 comments

As you may or may not know, today has been chosen as LGBT Spirit Day, which encourages wearing purple to show solidarity and is described by GLAAD thusly:

Spirit Day honors the teenagers who had taken their own lives in recent weeks. But just as importantly, it’s also a way to show the hundreds of thousands of LGBT youth who face the same pressures and bullying, that there is a vast community of people who support them.

Purple symbolizes ‘spirit’ on the rainbow flag, a symbol for LGBT Pride that was created by Gilbert Baker in 1978.

The recent influx of suicides (or, if not an influx of them occurring, an influx of them identified & reported as such) has been so upsetting, and this is an issue that’s important to me and many of my friends and family, so I definitely wanted to participate. I also have a lot of purple – so I wanted to wear as much as possible without looking like the flying Purple People Eater! Here’s what I ended up with:

What do you think – Purple Power or Purple People Eater?

Silk ombré dress: Simply Vera (Size 4), cardigan: New York & Company (size S).

Black leggings… I don’t even remember. Purple leather boots: purchased in Switzerland, March 2009.

I also knew I needed to break up all the purple with somewhat prominent jewelry and did so with this long, gold, knotted/beaded necklace from Target:

And simple gold hoops. Incidentally, I’m also showing spirit for my old alma mater, Hononegah High School, where our colors were purple & gold. Our mascot remains the Indians – another one of Illinois’ local history-inspired mascots… at least our middle school mascot was the ambiguous “Warriors”? Oh, I’m not even gonna get into it.

Here’s a closeup of the necklace:

I love all the colors of the beads & texture with the knot.

Just a final note, solidarity is great, but action is even better. If you’re able, please consider donating to The Trevor Project – the leading national organization focused on crisis and suicide prevention efforts among lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) youth – or to any number of other great organizations. Let’s make it better, together. :)

Entry filed under: Events, PSA, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

layers, continued argyle & flowers

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tageborkoff  |  October 20, 2010 at 10:16 am

    You are so amazing. I am so proud that you are my friend. And ps– your pictures are just too good!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  October 20, 2010 at 10:18 am

      Same to you 100%, my love! :) I’m excited for all the autumnal activities this week!

      Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  October 20, 2010 at 11:28 am

    You look great in purple! Back in college, I had a complete purple ensemble…belt, sweater, pants, shoes and purse, all purple. I am very proud of you for standing up for what you believe in. Unfortunately, I did not wear purple today but have noticed those who did.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  October 20, 2010 at 11:29 am

      Thanks! And omg, does a picture of this ensemble exist? Please check tonight, I gotta see it! :D

      Reply
  • 5. Amy M.  |  October 20, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    I also wore a purple dress today! It was great because its pry one of the last dress-sans-tights days this season. Didn’t really notice anyone else wearing purple though… sad.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  October 20, 2010 at 11:25 pm

      Yay/boo! I think despite Facebook and Twitter, a lot of people still didn’t know about the purple thing. That’s what I like to think, anyway – rather than people actively not wearing it based on LACK of support.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,822 hits since 12/29/2009

