a-maize-ing ensemble

October 17, 2010 at 1:54 pm Leave a comment

Oh, hello! It’s been a while. Truth be told, I’ve simply been getting lazy and the dreaded C-word – no, not that, gutter-brains – comfortable. In any case, I’m back (for the moment) with what I wore to a really fun fall excursion this weekend. More than a dozen friends and I went to Richardson Farm in Spring Grove, IL, home of the world’s largest corn maze! We had spectacularly lovely, sunny weather during the afternoon but knew it’d cool off significantly once the sun went down, so it was all about layers.

Wore a cami under this Merona Ultimate Long-Sleeve Tee (in Mint Air) for extra warmth and paired it with a plaid vest by Heritage 1981 I’d never heard of this brand before, which is apparently made by Forever 21, but I got it at Crossroads in Evanston for $17. I’d been searching for the perfect vest for a very long time, and I really loved the fit, comfort, look, and style of this one (it also has a faux fur-lined hood, which I took off this weekend in favor of a hat).

And on the bottom… yes, I finally caved and bought something called a “jegging.” The term makes me want to vomit a little, it’s such a gross portmanteau, but they do serve a purpose in that they are positively perfect with boots. You don’t get that bunchy-ness with them, and they’re extremely comfortable. I don’t see this exact pair online, but these ones are Mossimo from Target (size 13). Brown leather boots are by Steve Madden.

Illinois state quarter necklace: Jack Landstra, aqua & teal drop earrings: I don’t even remember, think I stole them from my mom long ago. And I was going to wear this hat (also from Target) but was told a different hat looked better.

Jamie’s cute studded black hat is from Target, while my fuzzy grey one was from H&M last year.

Keeping with the layered look, Jamie also wore a vest for our corn adventure:

A Northwestern alum, she is decked out in purple and white to show her Wildcat pride. Grrrrowl!

I’ll leave you with a few more pics from Richardson Farm.

Katy and me.

Harnessed up with William, Jordan, and Steve for the zip line!

Into the black abyss!

The gang.

And of course, a delicious s’more (prepared by William) to cap the evening. Mmm!

Entry filed under: Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

$10 de-redifying layers, continued

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

