autumnal transition

September 25, 2010 at 4:39 pm 11 comments

You may have noticed a little lapse in posts here. In all truthfulness, I haven’t been feeling 100% super fantastic about myself lately – it happens to us all from time to time, wouldn’t you say?

And sometimes when you’re feeling blah about the way you look, it’s time for a change. While I did initially love my color the last time I did it (the 2nd most-visited post on this blog), that was 3 months ago now, and the outgrowth has been showing itself once again, despite my attempt at lowlights to reduce this. Combine the blah feeling with fall fast-approaching, and it seemed like the time to try something darker. Why not?

I bought this L’Oréal Couleur Experte (6.3 Brioche: Light Golden Brown) color & highlights, but I’m pretty positive I’ve done this shade before; and while it’s nice, I quickly remembered it’s simply not as dark as I had in mind. Will be returning this to Walgreens on Monday.

Instead, I got these:

L’Oréal Superior Preference 6AM: Light Amber Brown
L’Oréal Touch-On Highlights H60: Creamy Caramel (Light to Medium Brown)

After applying and setting a bit, the color started looking REALLY RED:

Guess that was the warm amber coming into play. After setting a bit longer, it started looking REALLY DARK. And it kinda was:

Haha, my eyebrows are even more nonexistent!

After the highlights, however…

Voilà!

Left side.

Right side. I’m pretty happy with it. Hoping it doesn’t look too orange-y in some lights and that with a few more washings it will all fade to a happy blend of colors. The only thing I question, as you can see above, is the noticeable strip of brown hair just past my bangs that didn’t get a highlight. I’m afraid it looks too stripe-y (it’s always tough to do yourself, and I might even have it parted a bit differently than when I applied the highlights, thus causing the color to be distributed differently). I have plans to highlight my friend Julia’s hair soon, though (possibly tomorrow), so maybe I’ll just put one more highlight in to even it out. What do you think – add one or leave it? Click the thumbnail for a bit better lighting.

Adam, Tate, and me at Roscoe’s, post-haircolor. :)

I’ll have you know the frozen pineapple mai tai was delicious. Thanks, Tatertots!

Speaking of Tate, check out his duds when we headed to Andersonville after brunch today:

I like to call this Newsies chic. He’s such a dandy!

Hope everyone’s having a swell weekend!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Misadventures. Tags: .

the return of i spy holy highlighting weekend, batman!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  September 25, 2010 at 4:49 pm

    Love it!!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  September 25, 2010 at 11:30 pm

      xo! :)

      Reply
  • 3. Cristi  |  September 25, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    YOU LOOK FAB!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  September 25, 2010 at 11:30 pm

      THANKS! :D

      Reply
  • 5. Kari  |  September 26, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Looks great!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  September 26, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      Thanks! I’m still adjusting to the darker shade. Sometimes I’m not sure it ~goes with my wardrobe, but I’m sure it’s just me being silly. :)

      Reply
  • 7. Tosca  |  September 27, 2010 at 7:38 am

    This is gorgeous on you. And Tate is such a cutie!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  September 27, 2010 at 8:15 am

      Thank you so much! As for Tate, isn’t he, though? Adorable and my poshest friend, for sure!

      Reply
      • 9. tageborkoff  |  September 27, 2010 at 9:29 am

        :-)

  • 10. tageborkoff  |  September 27, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Love love love!

    Reply
    • 11. Cara  |  September 27, 2010 at 9:33 am

      Thanks, Tate Ashton!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

