playing penny lane

September 18, 2010 at 8:39 pm 8 comments

“They don’t even know what it is to be a fan, y’know? To truly love some silly little piece of music, or some band, so much that it hurts.”


Ten years ago this week, one of my favorite movies of all time (definitely in my Top 3) was released: Cameron Crowe’s Almost Famous. If you love music, you must see this film. Even if you’re not into the ’70s. Even if you don’t like Kate Hudson – she was born for this role. And if you can get your hands on it, make sure to watch the bootleg cut, aka the director’s cut, aka “Untitled.” I didn’t think the movie could get more perfect, but the director’s cut proved me wrong.

I feel like I should say something profound about how much this movie speaks to me, about how many relationships I’ve had blossom around a mutual love we shared for it, about the power of music, but I’d never do it justice. It makes you smile while breaking your heart and then puts you back together again. But this line sums up part of why I relate to it so much:

“The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what you share with someone else when you’re uncool.”

Ain’t that the truth?

In honor of the 10th anniversary of Almost Famous, here’s me as Penny Lane for Halloween 2007.

Green coat: Target (I think Merona? I’ve since gotten rid of it, as it was actually too big), flowy top: thrifted, jeans: Mossimo, shades: eBay. I think my tacklebox was also from Target, but I can’t remember.

We are not groupies. Groupies sleep with rockstars because they wanna be near someone famous. We’re here because of the music. We inspire the music. We are band aids.”

Hope everyone’s having a good weekend… it’s all happening!

Entry filed under: As Seen on TV, Events, Misadventures. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

rainy days & fundays the return of i spy

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tageborkoff  |  September 24, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    I love love love this movie.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  September 25, 2010 at 4:45 pm

      Favorite. :) Have you seen the director’s cut? We should watch it sometime!

      Reply
  • […] Ladies of LOST: Claire – 502 hits 7. best & worst of the Emmys 2010 – 507 hits 6. playing penny lane – 560 hits 5. very rachel berry – 565 hits 4. Ladies of LOST: Kate – 923 hits 3. […]

    Reply
  • 4. Julia  |  November 29, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Wow, i adore your outfit !!
    it’s all happening,
    julia

    Reply
    • 5. Cara  |  December 2, 2011 at 1:00 pm

      thanks so much! band aids gotta stick together. :)

      Reply
  • 6. Emily  |  October 19, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Great costume! Glad I found this!

    I’m doing this for Halloween this year (my fiance is going as William Miller, since it’s our favorite movie). Just wondering if your hair is naturally curly or if you styled it. If you styled it, how did you do it? I’m hoping for something I can put up for a few hours and take out before I have to leave.

    Reply
    • 7. Cara  |  October 22, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      Thank you! My hair is not naturally curly. All I did was do two French braids wet, may have let them dry overnight. Can’t remember. But it was super easy and created the perfect soft/loose curls for Penny. :) You just have to mess with them a bit to hide the part down the middle where your braids were separated.

      Reply
      • 8. Emily  |  October 28, 2013 at 8:15 pm

        Thanks again, Cara! The braids ended up being perfect! I did four French brains and kept them in overnight and through the next day, just to make sure it would be curly enough. I made sure to give you a shout out on my blog!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,822 hits since 12/29/2009

