buttoned banana

September 17, 2010 at 10:14 am 2 comments

Nope, no yellow here. I misled you. SHAME, SHAME!

But this buttoned sweater (size M) is by Banana Republic. (Get it??) And it’s cashmere. Loved the colors, the style, the buttons – and the price: only $17 at Crossroads!

Note to Evanston staff: try being friendlier and actually putting people’s clothes in the bag before brushing them off. Last I checked, leaving their clothes in a pile on the counter while you talk over them to the next customer is bad service.

Paired with maroon cords from Ann Taylor Loft (size 12) that I absolutely love. They fit like a dream.

I feel so J. Crew catalog in this. I know it’s Banana, hush.

Jean jacket: Lucky brand.

Shoes: Merona Moreen Oxford-Style Mary Jane Pumps. I rarely wear heels with pants (being 5’8″ often makes length difficult in general – taller than average, but not quite tall enough to necessitate buying Longs), but I think they class up the whole look and tie it together by pulling in the grey of the sweater.

Simple jewelry today – hoops & my locket (seen here).

PS: Today is the LAST DAY to vote in the Mad Men contest! I… really have no shot at even coming close to winning, but how about one final push for votes, yeah? Please? It’s good for the soul!

Speaking of which, T.G.I.F.!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

fashion flashback rainy days & fundays

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie  |  September 18, 2010 at 8:04 am

    I just got a pair of gray cords from Ann Taylor Loft and loooove them. And they give teachers 15% off with everything! I’ve gotten into the habit of taking my school ID everywhere with me and asking if they have a teacher’s discount. J. Crew and Banana Republic do discounts, too.

    Random fashion question – I know you wear a lot of tights with boots so you might have some insight into this issue. I like to pair tights with boots as well, especially in the colder weather, but I have problems with the area where boots zip up or fasten scuffing up and putting lots of little picks in my tights – even when the boot has a flap to cover the zipper on the inside.

    I usually wear socks with boots even when I wear tights and pull them up to help block the roughing up of the tights from happening, but it’s no guarantee.

    Any tips for making tights last longer?

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  September 18, 2010 at 12:21 pm

      Awesome! I was actually going to mention the teacher discount to you once. I know NY&Co. does it too. That’s so cool!

      I know exactly the problem you’re talking about, but unfortunately I’m in the same boat. Luckily I’ve never had anything truly ruined, and thankfully most of my boots haven’t been too tight or too rough/uneven at their zippers. But it is definitely a problem (as is crossing my legs under a table or desk and hitting something rough – it makes me so mad!). I think I’ve read that some people put felt or moleskin in various shoes – maybe you could just sew one side on the inner shaft of the boot or possibly even use a tiny safety pin? Not sure if what I’m describing is coming through.

      Long story short, sadly I’m with you. I think, honestly, more expensive, quality tights simply last longer (my Express tights ripped right away, but my Kohl’s Simply Vera tights are all still going strong). But let me know if you learn a trick!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

