anthropologie noche en la copa dress

September 13, 2010 at 2:49 pm 4 comments

Yesterday I experienced a little bit of “fashion karma,” so to speak. Or something of the sort. I’m not 100% sure on what to call it yet, but what I’m referring to is the phenomenon of finding something you really like and walking away from it, only to have it worm its tempting little self back into your life. Let me explain.

A while back, I saw Noche En La Copa dress by Edme & Esyllte at Anthropologie – on sale for $69.99, down from $138. I tried it on because I liked the colors and silhouette, and though it fit, I couldn’t justify the price.

When my friend Kari wanted to stop in Anthro yesterday, I glanced around the sale racks as usual and spotted one single Noche En La Copa dress left. In a size 8 – the size I had tried on. And it was marked down to $29.99. That, my friends, is fashion karma: being rewarded for sensibility and patience with an irresistible low-low price later on!

For $30, I think this is totally adorable, no?

And it’s got pockets! Once again I laugh at my own fascination with pocketed frocks. So impractical, yet I’m always impressed, as if it’s some super special & uberfunctional bonus feature.

The back has the same unique twistwork as my Naut-It tank, which is just so pretty, not to mention functional as far as halter straps go. This design helps them really stay put.

Also, any of my friends or those of you who have been reading this blog for any amount of time can probably guess how thrilled I was at all these bold colors. I think it will even look great with tights and boots once fall comes back out.

Speaking of which, since it really felt summery once more today, I paired this decidedly tropical dress with sandals:

“Banglez” gladiators: Steven by Steve Madden.

The headband was a gift from my cousin Sarah, so I don’t know where that’s from. The wooden cutout earrings – which echo the wooden buttons on the dress – are from New York & Company. (Speaking of the buttons on the dress, in between the buttons are some snaps to help everything stay closed, but one of them up top kept popping open. This was noted by MANY reviews online, but one little safety pin fixed that easily for me.) Necklace: Jack Landstra, bracelet: American Eagle. Also wearing my Jurassic Park ring on the other hand.

So tell me, have you experienced fashion karma? Isn’t it satisfying?!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

september sunday fashion flashback

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amelia  |  September 13, 2010 at 3:03 pm

    I had fashion karma ALL the time when I worked at Anthropologie!

    Also, you have an AMAZING view from your apt! So jealous.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  September 13, 2010 at 9:46 pm

      Oh yeah, I bet working there was daaangerous!

      Thanks, I love it. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Kari  |  September 13, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Very nice! And looks like you were able to fix those awkward snaps.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  September 13, 2010 at 9:47 pm

      thanks! yeah, a tiny safety pin did the trick just fine. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,410 hits since 12/29/2009

