hard & soft

September 9, 2010 at 6:59 pm 6 comments

I’m not so sure this worked.

As I was putting it together in my head, I really liked the idea. But seeing the photos made me furrow my brow in slight panic as I rushed out the door with no time to change. Oh well!

Having picked up this military-lite jacket from Target (Mossimo, size M), I wanted to mix it up with neutrals (dark wash jeans: L.e.i.) while balancing a lot of hard and soft: army green & basic buttons on the jacket contrast the blue scoopneck & sparkly buttons of the Charlotte Tarantola top.

The structured collar & epaulets are softened by a feminine braid.

Even brash black liner is balanced by barely-there lips; and my Scrabble tile C charm necklace (Etsy) adds a dash of whimsy up top to balance the utilitarian, buckled Steve Madden boots on the bottom, while the navy anchor earrings (also Etsy) reinforce the vaguely military feel.

This is how I thought it should work in my head, but somehow it just didn’t come together like I’d hoped. Or maybe it’s just me, and it actually works? In any case, it feels good to be wearing boots again! They’re made for walkin’, you know.

Also loving this new Sonia Kashuk nail polish (available exclusively at Target):

The shade is called Tauped, and it just screamed Fall to me, so I had to give it a try. It can appear grey in some lights, and I almost didn’t get it, thinking it may be too similar to my beloved Sally Hansen Commander in Chic.

But, as you can see here in sunlight, it definitely has more of a brown/tan base than the blue/purple undertones of Commander in Chic. It’s a soft yet unexpected shade that I anticipate becoming a fall favorite. What do you think: taupe nails – Y/N?

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

return of the colored tights! spotted & striped gap goodies

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea V.  |  September 9, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    I think it’s a lot more neutrals and a lot less color-pop than we usually see on you (which is probably why you feel like it doesn’t work) – but I definitely think it does, in fact, work. Maybe a brighter top under the jacket, or a brighter polish (though I do like the taupe) would make the entire look more “Cara?”

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  September 9, 2010 at 7:10 pm

      Hm… you know, you may be right! :) But I was really excited about the neutrals since I usually wear so much color, ha! It could be the skinnies tucked into the boots, too, not giving me the most flattering silhouette. Maybe the boots under actual bootcut jeans would’ve streamlined it more.

      Reply
  • 3. Ben  |  September 9, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    The only thing I’m seeing is maybe too much dark blue. The length of the jacket almost creates the illusion that the jeans and top are a single piece. Though that might just be the photo.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  September 9, 2010 at 8:50 pm

      Oh, did I forget to mention it’s a full bodysuit? ;) Good point. In person the jeans seem darker to me, but you may be right!

      I really liked the jacket in grey too – http://bit.ly/ctfalG – but they didn’t have a Medium, and the Small was simply too snug. Then again, that one would have added even more blue, but in general I think that one might be more versatile than the green. Still dig the more pure military feel of the green, though.

      Reply
  • 5. Jamie  |  September 10, 2010 at 7:08 am

    I LOVE THIS. ALL OF IT. But you knew I would. ;)

    <3

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  September 10, 2010 at 12:02 pm

      THANKS! You may like today’s as well. I think I like it better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

