return of the colored tights!

September 8, 2010 at 8:32 pm 12 comments

What a week it’s been so far: shake-ups, shut-ups & dress-ups (as for the latter, ahem, why yes, my friends and I did take an impromptu trip to the Bristol Renaissance Faire on Labor Day) – and it’s only Wednesday. Anyone else? Y’know what else has suddenly happened within the past week, at least here in Chicago? GLORIOUS FALL! To borrow a word from my dear friend Tate, it’s downright autumnal. And you know what that means…

That’s right, the return of the colored tights!

Ok, so for some reason the sun was being particularly unreasonable this morning, but if you can’t tell, my legs are orange.

It’s also the return of the ModCloth Avocado Orchard dress by Heartbreaker (size M). To prep for the morning bluster: a sage green cardigan from New York & Company (size S) and orange tights by Simply Vera.

I ended up buttoning the middle 3 buttons most of the day, which I think looked better and more streamlined. I also wore my kicky new Merona shoes again.

Those would be the Merona Moreen Oxford-Style Mary Jane Pumps (size 9).

Yellow flower earrings echo the flowers in the dress without being too matchy-matchy, and this is my first time wearing the locket my grandma gave me.

It was another treasure found in some of her rummage sale finds, and I absolutely love it. I’ve never seen a locket like this: an engraved “book” with a tiny charm. It took me most of the summer to finally get pictures put in it, but I’m so happy with how it turned out.

Portraits of my grandpa & grandma… circa late 1950s, early 1960s? I forget. They were married in 1956. Their golden anniversary party a few years ago was so much fun – 50 years! That’s just unheard of now. I feel so blessed to have such a strong foundation in my family. And they’re just as great together today. In fact, I always relate this Doris Day line from Calamity Jane to them: “We’re like the 7-year itch to each other… but it’s a lot of fun scratchin’!”

Not too tough on the eyes either, eh? They coulda been in pictures, I tell ya! :)

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

casual thursday hard & soft

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    That locket is incredible. I love it.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  September 8, 2010 at 9:59 pm

      thank you! I am quite enamored with it. :)

      Reply
  • 3. Suzanne  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    I am in love with that dress!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  September 8, 2010 at 9:59 pm

      thanks, girl! ’tis my new fave, can’t lie.

      Reply
  • 5. Jackie  |  September 9, 2010 at 4:45 am

    Those photos of your grandparents are great! Grandpa looks like a heartbreaker. Also love the colors of your whole outfit! I never would have thought of doing the rusty colored tights AND a green cardigan, but it works really well with this dress. An eggplant type accent color would look great with this dress, too.

    I’m so glad it’s turning autumnish here. Breaking out the boots pretty soon!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  September 9, 2010 at 8:39 am

      Doesn’t he, though? :) Thanks! I kinda just threw the colors together randomly – I did think about a purple cardi as well, but I don’t think it was the right shade.

      I’m totally wearing boots today. Hope you get to soon!

      Reply
  • 7. Jenny  |  September 9, 2010 at 7:26 am

    It even feels like fall in Alabama! (Home of the almost eternal, toohottohandle, humid-ass summer.) Completely glorious… :)

    The locket is beautiful, and I agree that the pictures of your grandparents are great! And obv good looks run in the family. I mean that in the least creepy way possible.

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  September 9, 2010 at 8:40 am

      Awesome, I love fall!

      And thank you on all counts. No creepiness taken. :)

      Reply
  • 9. Linda (Teri's Mom)  |  September 9, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    I too love the locket. I love finding antique jewelry and paying nothing for it. WTG Grandma

    Reply
    • 10. Cara  |  September 9, 2010 at 7:05 pm

      Yeah! She’s such a penny-pinching packrat sometimes, but it works in my favor! Maybe I’ll pass the locket on to someone else someday. :)

      Reply
  • 11. Amy M.  |  September 14, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I LOVE this look.
    Also, I can now tell that you get your photogenic genes from your grandparents.

    Reply
    • 12. Cara  |  September 16, 2010 at 12:18 pm

      aw, thank you! on both counts. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,473 hits since 12/29/2009

