best & worst of the Emmys 2010

August 31, 2010 at 2:27 pm 10 comments

What a fun show the Emmys were this year! Say what you will about Jimmy Fallon, but I thought he did a pretty decent job hosting, if only for that fantastic Glee-ful opening number. I was super disappointed not to see LOST walk away with any big awards for its final season – awards shows have a history of rewarding an entire body of work at the end, so I thought there was a possibility of this happening – but I was happy to see so many first-time winners.

As for the fashions, well, they were trend-tastic! And not too many serious mishaps. Well… ok, a few.

But let’s start with trends. I think the biggest one on the 2010 red carpet was…

1-Shoulder Chic

(Click for larger)

L–R: Jane Lynch in Ali Rahimi, Emily Deschanel in Max Azria Atelier, Jane Krakowski in Escada, Emily Blunt in Christian Dior.

(Click for larger)

L–R: Cheryl Hines in Zac Posen, Wanda Sykes in Zuhair Murad, Nina Dobrev in Zuhair Murad, Elisabeth Moss in Donna Karan, Julie Benz in Pamella Roland.

Jane Lynch looks great. She dressed like a winner, and win she did. The color & bodice are beautiful on her. Hate both Emilys‘ looks – Deschanel‘s dress is interesting, but it’s a shame about those awful bangs; Blunt‘s dress is too soft, too pastel, too floral. She can work edgy high fashion, and she falls flat in this. I’m underwhelmed. Nina Dobrev looks TINY tiny in her pretty gown; and I really would’ve loved to see some color on Elisabeth Moss. A rich jewel tone would have complemented her skin so beautifully. So-so photo, but Julie Benz was rocking that white dress on camera, let me tell you.

Color Trends: Red, White & Blue

(Click for larger)

L–R: Jenna Fischer in Rare Vintage, Glee‘s Jenna Ushkowitz in Kevan Hall, Glee‘s Jessalyn Gilsig in Nicole Miller, The Daily Show‘s Olivia Munn in Zac Posen.

HALLELUJAH! JENNA FISCHER DOESN’T LOOK LIKE CRAP! The girl has a terrible history on the red carpet, and I am beyond pleasantly surprised, shocked really, to see her show up in something both modern and flattering. Way to go, girl! I’m not a huge fan of red on the red carpet anyway, but most of these ladies look good, save Jenna Ushkowitz. Too baggy and shapeless. I do love red on blondes, and Jessalyn Gilsig looks pretty perfect. Check those guns! Also really love the color of Olivia Munn‘s dress.

(Click for larger)

L–R: Glee‘s Amber Riley in Melissa Masse, “television personality” Kim Kardashian in Marchesa, “television personality” Brooke Burke, Damages‘ Rose Byrne in Gucci.

All of these white-wearing women look pretty good (I begrudgingly admit to Kim Kardishiwhatev), but I really like Rose Byrne‘s. It’s modern, sexy, and edgy – traits I’d never immediately associate with her.

(Click for larger)

L–R: Glee‘s Lea Michele in Oscar de la Renta, Glee‘s Jayma Mays in Burberry Prorsum, Modern Family‘s Julie Bowen in J. Mendel, Friday Night Lights‘ Connie Britton in Burberry, Top Chef host Padma Lakshmi in Carolina Herrera.

Navy was the color of the night, and personally I’m happy to see it as an alternative to basic black. I’m not wild about Julie Bowen‘s dress, but the rest of them did a pretty good job of standing out while staying true to their own personal styles.

Sparkles & Sequins

(Click for larger)

L–R: Claire Danes in Giorgio Armani Privé, Glee‘s Heather Morris in Ina Soltani, Dexter‘s Jennifer Carpenter in Oday Shakar, The Good Wife‘s Julianna Margulies in L’Wren Scott, and Connie Britton again, being doubly trendy.

WOW! is all I can say here. I don’t know who decided sparkles are back, but I fully support and embrace this trend. I love all of these looks (maybe Julianna Margulies just a tiny bit less – something weird about the straps for me), but special mentions for Claire Danes, looking every inch the movie star, Heather Morris for looking the most un-Brittany any of us has ever seen her, and Dexter‘s foul-mouthed Deb, Jennifer Carpenter, absolutely stunning in her one-sleeved, slinky gunmetal gown. Interesting that they all left their hair down, too – but when you’ve got that much dress, the rest should be simple simple simple.

Prints

(Click for larger)

L–R: Tina Fey in Oscar de la Renta, Toni Collette in Valentino, True Blood‘s Rutina Wesley in Douglas Hannant, SNL‘s Kristen Wiig, True Blood‘s Carrie Preston, aka Mrs. Michael Emerson, in Makoto Takada.

I don’t want to discourage prints – because I love me some prints – but there is not a lot to love in these dresses. I hated Tina Fey‘s on first glance, but it grew on me a bit. I still think she’s not quite tall enough to rock this dress to its full potential – there’s something off about her torso. Toni Collette‘s just looks straight-up dirty. Rutina Wesley‘s is an awful lot of look. Kristen Wiig, we get it – you’re “funny.” No need for clown accessories. Carrie Preston, yeeeesh. Again, a lot of look. But she had Michael Emerson on her arm, so she ties with Jennifer Carpenter for best accessory (who had husband Michael C. Hall on her arm).

The Horror: Mullet Dresses

(Click for larger)

L–R: True Blood‘s Anna Paquin in Alexander McQueen, Mad Men‘s January Jones in Atelier Versace.

Why. WHY?? I liked Anna Paquin‘s from the waist up – seemed really unique, very Cleopatra, almost like armor. Then I saw the snug stomach and mullet skirt. Sigh. Hate the shoes, too. And January Jones, OH, JANUARY. I know you want to distance yourself from Betty Draper, but messy bedhead + Versace does not a fashion icon make. The dress is wearing her. And even though it’s Versace, it still looks like it’s made of high-end coffee filters – the result of one of those unconventional materials challenges on Project Runway:

Y/N?

Plus – pardon the watermark, but I couldn’t find another picture – can we please talk logistics?

Yeah, that looks super comfortable and not at all awkward. Oh hey, Jason Sudeikis.

Menswear: Color

(Click for larger)

L–R: House‘s Hugh Laurie in Brunello Cucinelli, Glee creator & writer Ryan Murphy in Tom Ford, Glee‘s Kevin McHale.

Hugh Laurie continued the navy trend, while Ryan Murphy and Kevin McHale, both part of the gayest show on TV, have some fun with color. Honestly? I like all of this. Even Ryan Murphy’s velvet tie and matching blue sunglasses! You know he did it tongue in cheek, and I just really enjoy seeing people take some risks. It’s a party! Not a funeral. Why not have a little fun?

Grey Guys

(Click for larger)

L–R: Neil Patrick Harris in Calvin Klein, Modern Family‘s Ty Burrell in Brunello Cucinelli.

If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, you probably know I love grey. NPH looks perfect, if you ask me, in just a slight twist on a classic; while Ty Burrell switched up the tux a bit more… and somehow I still really like it? I don’t know, maybe it’s because he plays such a zany, clueless dad on Modern Family that this somehow works.

Borrowing from Bogart

(Click for larger)

L–R: Mad Men‘s Bryan Batt, The Office‘s Craig Robinson, 30 Rock‘s Tracy Morgan.

If you’re going to cop someone’s style, it may as well be Humphrey Bogart’s classic white jacket, black bowtie Casablanca look. None of these guys look bad (take note, fellas: it’s rare to look bad in a suit or tux), but I think Bryan Batt looks phenomenal. The tailoring is impeccable; the tie is just the right size; and the black buttons were the perfect choice. Notice how they streamline his torso much more so than Craig and Tracy’s white buttons. Y’know, he really does look pretty Bogie. A+ for my beloved Salvatore Romano!

Worst Dressed

Jewel in Zuhair Murad. Why were you even there? Oh yes, to yodel sing. OK. Ugly country prom gown. Taylor Swift would wear this – if there were more sparkles. You’re 36. Dress like a woman. Also the lipstick is equally heinous.

Keri Russell in vintage Jean Louis Scherrer Haute Couture – oh, Felicity. This pains me greatly, because I am a fan, but honey, no. It must be said: just because something is vintage doesn’t make insta-awesome. Poor fit (chest, waist), doesn’t flatter (makes her look smaller in the chest and wider in the waist), and it’s an incredibly awkward length, cut just high enough to see utterly mismatched shoes. Those don’t go at all. Pretty hair, though.

When I first saw the super-beautiful Mariska Hargitay, I immediately thought, “EW. Vera Wang bridal.” And you know what it is? Vera Wang! Was she planning on getting married on stage? I feel like everything about this is too stiff and rigid: the hair, the bodice, the skirt. It practically looks like bent paper at the bottom. She is an undeniably gorgeous woman with a killer bod, but she also has a lot of harsh angles, and this dress only adds to them, making her seem sharp & hard all over. I think she was headed in the right direction, but Vera Wang doesn’t automatically mean “soft & feminine.” Would love to see her in something actually soft and feminine, or, on the other side of the spectrum, something super edgy & high-fashion. I think she could pull it off. Also: hate the shoes (from what I can see).

Lauren Graham in Yigal Azrouël – oh, Lorelai. You are so beautiful and ageless, but what is this? The top looks like one of those hastily draped & taped together Make-A-Dress-Out-Of-Toilet-Paper frocks that result from some ridiculous bridal shower game. That is, completely ill-fitting. And she has no waist. And what is that clutch? Everything about it just makes me sad.

No disrespect to Hanx, but Rita Wilson, what the hell? Prada though it may be, I feel like she must know how ridiculous this is and is just having some fun, right? Right?? Chain mail + crystals?!! There are really no words.

Mindy Kaling in Aguri Sagimori. Or, perhaps a more apt description: Helena Bonham Carter meets Amy Winehouse. Gurrrrrrl. As I have nothing nice to say, I will stop here.

Best Dressed

Jane Lynch. Her win was a lock, so I was happy to see her show up looking the part. This is the best she’s ever looked on the red carpet. And that’s how Cara C‘s it!

Lea Michele. Pure diva. She’s the breakout star of the past year’s breakout series, and it shows. The navy looks beautiful with her skintone. I don’t love the hair, but she worked the shit outta this dress, posing and smizing on the red carpet. You get it, girl.

Pardon the pun, but Julie Benz was the definition of white hot on the red carpet. You can’t tell as much in the photos, but on camera, she was absolutely flawless in a dress that leaves little room for flaws.

See what I mean? Takes one confident, fearless woman to wear a dress like that.

Kiernan ShipkaMad Men‘s Sally Draper. Maybe it’s cheating to include a 10-year-old among the Best Dressed, but may I remind you what her costars, who are grown women, showed up in? (See right – I can’t even talk about Christina Hendricks.) She outdid them all. Absolutely adorable. I love her little headband, and she’s wearing the tiniest bit of make-up (probably had fun playing dress-up) while still looking like a little girl. Bonus Sal + Sally!

Sorry for the watermark again – too cute not to include.

And my official Best Dressed goes to…

Claire Danes. Stunning, flawless, perfect. She is absolutely glowing. This is how it’s done, ladies.

Images credited to: AP, Bauer Griffin, BravoTV, Celebrity-Gossip.net, Getty, Warner Bros. Pictures, WireImage
Entry filed under: As Seen on TV, Best of, Events, Trends. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

reminder: livetweeting Emmys 2010! casual thursday

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Teri  |  August 31, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I agree with most of this, but I thought Clair Danes looked too bronzed or something. Better in the photos, so maybe it was stage lighting? The dress was beautiful, though.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  August 31, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      Oh yes, could’ve been the sunlight vs. theatre lighting – she also may have been flushed/nervous on stage. She made quite a few funny high-pitched sounds!

      Reply
  • 3. Anne  |  August 31, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Nobody gets to be unanimous. I thought, and most blogs and comments have also found the dress Mariska simply stunning. She’s curvy, sexy, feminine and why not show it. But I accept your opinion.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  August 31, 2010 at 3:04 pm

      Huh? Well yes, that’s why it’s an opinion! I absolutely agree she is sexy; the dress just didn’t work for me. If it worked for everyone else, good for her!

      Reply
  • 5. Jackie  |  August 31, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    I was so disappointed with Lauren Graham’s dress, because I love her! And someone should have talked Emily D. out of those bangs. Just because her sister Zooey has them doesn’t mean that she should. I actually think Emily Blunt would have looked better in that dress.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  August 31, 2010 at 3:10 pm

      SAME to both your comments! As for Deschanel, they’re not even playful, longer bangs like Zooey’s – they’re FAR too blunt/short, imo. And yeah, I really hated Blunt’s dress – I will give her a pass for feeling soft and romantic, though, since she just became Mrs. John Krasinski!

      Reply
      • 7. Jackie  |  August 31, 2010 at 3:14 pm

        Seriously. If I was married to John Krasinski I would show up at the Emmys wearing a paper bag and wouldn’t even care because hello. Tall and adorably handsome is always the best fashion accessory.

  • 8. Sarah B.  |  September 6, 2010 at 2:58 am

    I liked Jayma Mays’ navy Burberry.

    LOVED Heather Morris — was totally surprised by her!

    Lauren Graham was a huuuuge let down. Why did she do that to herself?!

    And, oh, how I love Sally Draper.

    Reply
    • 9. Cara  |  September 8, 2010 at 8:55 pm

      Yes, Jayma looked great, as did Heather. Way to bring it, Glee girls!

      I was and still am so sad for Lauren. She’s so BEAUTIFUL. How is it even possible to make her look dumpy? Fire that stylist, stat.

      This week’s Mad Men was AMAZING, but it was severely lacking Sally! That’s prob my only complaint. And the lack of Sal. Oh, how I hope we’ll see him again!

      Reply
  • […] hits 9. Ladies of LOST: Shannon – 479 hits 8. Ladies of LOST: Claire – 502 hits 7. best & worst of the Emmys 2010 – 507 hits 6. playing penny lane – 560 hits 5. very rachel berry – 565 hits 4. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,822 hits since 12/29/2009

