gap city flat

August 26, 2010 at 10:38 pm 17 comments

I went to two different Gaps tonight to scope out merch that I might be able to use my killer 50% off Groupon on, but I only found one cardigan I really loved; and since you have to use the entire coupon at once (can’t split up your purchases like a gift card), I decided to wait and save it.

That doesn’t mean I left empty-handed, though, especially since they were throwing around 30% off coupons!

So I got this!

“What is it?” you ask? A bag! And what’s inside? Let me show you.

Ok, so that probably doesn’t help. Those are shoes! Yes, shoes folded up!

I heard about CitySlips a while back and had been wanting to try them, what with my endless walking around Chicago – especially when they got a rave on the AnywearGirl blog. For those who don’t know, they are flats that fold up in a bag to take out ‘n’ about and change into whenever your feet hurt – a more stylish and space-saving alternative to Emergency Flip-Flops! (™ Jamie Madison) But I wasn’t sold on the shape of CitySlips, wasn’t sure what they looked like ON your feet, and didn’t feel like spending $24.95 (plus shipping) just to find out and maybe end up not liking them.

I also recently saw a really cheapo version from Dr. Scholl’s at Walgreens called Fast Flats. A for effort, Dr. Scholl’s! I was impressed to see them jump on this trend so soon. And while they are certainly affordable and may very possibly be comfortable, they really look as cheap as they cost ($12.99), to the point that I simply wouldn’t be interested in wearing them.

FootzyRolls ($12.99–$30.00) are another of these grab ‘n’ go flats, but apparently those were pimped by Oprah, and I could never knowingly jump on her bandwagon.

The main issue I have with all of the above, though, is that while they may be thin and have a tread to their soles, there’s not much structure or padding. So when I saw the Gap City Flat with cushioned soles, I was intrigued.

Compact.

Opening.

Flat.

It’s the split in the middle between heel and ball of foot allows them to fold so nicely. They do run a bit small, however. The size 9 (my usual size) technically fit, and while it didn’t feel tight to the point of pain, it was definitely tight to the point of ugliness. The thickness of the fabric, the texture, I don’t know – something made it look decidedly not cute. I couldn’t find a 9.5, so I grabbed a 10, which was much better and didn’t feel big either.

At $39.50 they are certainly pricey, but a) there’s more to them with the cushioning, and b) they’re on the cuter side. Also, like I said, I got 30% off.

You can find the Gap City Flat in a few colors on their website, but there are a million billion colors & textures in store. Ok, maybe not that many, but off the top of my head, I remember: black, grey, pink, bright red, dark red, blue, purple, gold, silver, champagne, and this sort of pewter-y/bronze-y color I got. The shade is different in different lights. I can’t wait to hit the streets in them!

UPDATE:

I wore them all day Friday, and they immediately dug into my heels. Around lunch time, I went to go get some heel cushions, but they still dig pretty badly. I AM SO DISAPPOINTED, and I’m sure I won’t be able to return them since, hello, they’ve been worn. What a bust. Unless I just have very sensitive heels – I might, since I utilize heel liners quite a bit. Very curious if anyone else has the same issue or if it’s just me. But maybe I just need to break them in. Fingers crossed.

UPDATE 2:

Looks like it really was just breaking them in, because I tried them again today (8/31/2010), slipping into them after working in heels all day, and they felt FINE! Thank goodness! I was so afraid I was out the money I spent. So here’s your warning: they will prob take some breaking in and/or heel liners. But still curious about anyone else’s experience with them, so feel free to let me know!

Entry filed under: Sales, Recs & Likes, Trends. Tags: , , , , , , .

office diva the crackiest ‘Project Runway’ ever – in screencaps

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  August 27, 2010 at 3:57 am

    I love those! Super cute!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  August 27, 2010 at 8:50 am

      Thanks! They are no homemade glitter flats, but they’re aight! ;)

      Reply
  • 3. Jackie  |  August 27, 2010 at 7:33 am

    I’ve seen those Gap flats and have wondered if they’re comfortable. You’ll have to report back after testing them out!

    I have these flats in a pewter color, similar to your Gap ones, that I use for throwing in the bag or wearing with jeans, and I love them. Very comfy, although not really any arch support if you’re going to be on your feet for hours on end. http://www.6pm.com/me-too-lacie-bronze

    I’ve found that I have been gravitating toward metallic heels and flats a lot lately.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  August 27, 2010 at 8:52 am

      Those are very cute! Yes, I’m wearing them today to test them out. So far, so good – but it’s not even 10 am! I think I may have one single odd stitch in the right heel, though, because I can feel a tiny pinch/scratch. Need to investigate or throw in some heel liners.

      And I LOVE metallics! Flats I have, but heels I could definitely use!

      Reply
  • 5. Amy M.  |  August 27, 2010 at 9:13 am

    I had the same problem shopping this week trying to spend my groupon. I feel like shopping at Gap for me is always really hit or miss. Though the few things I do end up finding eventually are some of my favorite pieces of clothing ever. Spending the groupon may take a few trips.

    Anyway, love the flats! Wish I could jump on that bandwagon, but I have excessively high arches that (a) need support and (b) stick up out of flat shoes , highlighting the huge gap between the bottom of my foot and the shoe, looking silly. wah-wah.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  August 28, 2010 at 5:49 pm

      yes, totally agree on Gap. Gonna have to make a few trips!

      I’m upset about the flats… wore them all day yesterday, and idk if it’s just me and my ~sensitive heels, but they were decidedly NOT comfy, digging into my heels on a large scale. :( wah-wah indeed!

      Reply
  • 7. Amy M.  |  August 29, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Awww… sadness. Maybe they just need some breaking in? I recently got a pair of Steve Madden flats bothered me sumthin-fierce, but now they’re so comfy I’m already freaking out about what I’m going to do when they finally bite the dust some day.

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  August 31, 2010 at 10:19 pm

      update! looks like it really was just breaking in cuz I tried them again today, and they felt fine! woo!

      Reply
    • 9. rachel  |  October 17, 2010 at 5:03 am

      hey which flats were these? I’m currently looking at some Steve Madden flats but they didn’t look very comfortable.

      Reply
  • 10. Hannah  |  September 26, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Thanks for the thorough review! I found these today at Gap in Korea for the equivalent of $65 US. I’m going to buy them online soon to save some cash. Your review was so helpful! Ah, now if I can only decide on a color…. ^^

    Reply
    • 11. Cara  |  September 26, 2010 at 10:31 pm

      Happy to hear it!

      Reply
  • 12. Hannah  |  September 26, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Has anyone had any problems with them wearing out quickly?

    Reply
    • 13. Cara  |  September 26, 2010 at 10:32 pm

      So far after moderate use, the bottoms have been holding up fine. But I have to say, I have noticed some of the metallic coloring flecking off on the top already, near the toes hit in spots. That’s definitely disappointing, but not entirely unexpected with any shoe really.

      Reply
  • 14. nancy  |  October 16, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    i got the exact same flats today and felt comfy just trying them on plus its cute right! i got the 40%off in them so not too bad on price but i went to the website and oh my the reviews are awful about this flats :(

    nways i have blog too so i will put links on my post about them…thanks it was very helpful! :)

    Reply
  • […] – 565 hits 4. Ladies of LOST: Kate – 923 hits 3. $30 dye job – 1,003 hits 2. gap city flat – 1,082 hits 1. how to make a care bear costume – 2,388 […]

    Reply
  • 16. Jessica  |  October 7, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    So if you buy the size a little too small in the store, you can very carefully undo the stitching and cut the elastic that makes them dig into your heels.
    This makes them wonderfully comfortable!

    Reply
    • 17. Cara  |  October 10, 2011 at 3:25 pm

      Great trick! Thanks for sharing! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 184,189 hits since 12/29/2009

