office diva

August 25, 2010 at 9:59 am 5 comments

I feel like I’m a little overdressed today, sort of. But I sort of don’t care. It’s still entirely office-appropriate, if flashy.

And sometimes you need some sparkle to make it through the week, am I right?

Gold swirl sequin top: H&M (size S), black knee-length shorts (I really can’t see fit to call them Bermuda shorts – they’re not cotton or khaki; they’re poly-rayon): Old Navy (size 12). I probably never would have sought out such shorts, but I found this single pair for like $6 on an Old Navy clearance rack, and they happened to be my size. Then I tried them on, and they were precisely my fit. For $6, they seemed like a semi-versatile addition to my wardrobe.

Shoes: the greatest strappy heels you’ll ever wear, aka the Rachelle by Söfft.

This shirt is so great – it acts like a disco ball, thanks to all the glorious sunshine flooding in my window:

Now multiply that all over my desk and up the wall! ~Party!

Moving on… accessories:

Gold drop earrings: gift (not sure), green pendant necklace: Macy’s, malachite ring: stolen from Grandma. Also the nail polish is Sally Hansen Complete Manicure in Shell We Dance?

Aside: I feel the need to apologize for my photos lately. I read so many fashion blogs with AWESOME photos and killer looks, and I feel like mine are just not up to snuff these days. Sorry, y’all! Thanks for reading anyway! Also I really, really want to expand to covering more stuff than just what I’m wearing, but it’s tough to break out of the rut. There’s also a fine line between being inspired by others and jacking their swagger, the latter of which no one wants. Anyway, this is in the back of my mind most of the time, so hopefully I’ll follow through sometime soon. Let me know if you have any ideas or things YOU’d like to see!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

grey matter gap city flat

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tageborkoff  |  August 25, 2010 at 10:04 am

    I love what you do on this blog! It totally was an inspiration for my own!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  August 25, 2010 at 10:05 am

      AWW, thanks, Tatertots!! :*

      Reply
  • 3. Jackie  |  August 25, 2010 at 10:08 am

    Love the sparkles!

    As far as blog ideas, you have some stylish friends. Why not do some kind of a clothing swap with them for a week? Or try something inspired by the Uniform Project (http://vimeo.com/11113046) for a week – pick one simple dress and see how many ways you could style it for a week. Swapping with your friends for accessories could be fun. If you’re doing it for only a week it’s not like you’re copying, and the original project wanted to inspired people to get creative anyhow.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  August 25, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Well, the thing is, most of my friends here in the city, with whom it’d be most convenient to swap, are guys. Although I guess that could perhaps make it more interesting! Hm, hmmm.. I shall think on it. Thanks for the ideas!

      Reply
      • 5. Jackie  |  August 25, 2010 at 10:15 am

        I love so many men’s fashion things – vests, ties, etc. You could do something like a week featuring how to style men’s fashions for the ladies.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

