a little bird told me

August 12, 2010 at 8:55 am 4 comments

Quick post today! My friend Valarie recently asked me for a mailing address, knowing I’m moving soon, because she had something to send me, and no, I didn’t get to know what it was.

What!? Well, of course I obliged, and yesterday I got a bumpy envelope from Iowa with a card noting that she saw this in a vintage store in Cedar Rapids and immediately thought of me.

It’s a little bird pendant! And her instincts were correct because I love it!

But wait – there’s more!

It’s made from a repurposed Scrabble tile! She said she tried to find a C, but no big deal. I’m going to say T is for TROUBLE! You know I bring that wherever I go.

I also did not mean to incorporate so much braiding this morning, and yet—

92% humidity today. Not a typo. So a braid it was. I feel like Lauren Conrad. Quick! Someone offer me a job in Paris so I can turn it down for a scuzzy guy!

Thanks again, Val – such a sweet, thoughtful, and unexpected gift. :)

PS: Please keep voting for me! Not going down without a fight!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , .

gypsy, tramp – thief? casual friday

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Valarie  |  August 12, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    T for trouble, perfect! And you’re completely welcome, I’m glad you like it so much!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  August 12, 2010 at 3:12 pm

      Cara with a capital C, and that rhymes with T, and that stands for TROUBLE! :D

      Reply
  • 3. Amy M.  |  August 12, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    That bird is SUPER charming. Also, I love your braided hair – I so wish I had the patience/skill to do that to my own head! Looks nice.

    Reply
  • 4. Cara  |  August 13, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Aw, thanks! I was trying to do one of the sort of headband-looking, really tiny braids, sorta like:

    But those are REALLY DIFFICULT to do. Even while wet. I tried keeping my braid small/thin, but it just got larger. Hence my Lauren Conrad feel, haha :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,473 hits since 12/29/2009

