rainy day hues

August 5, 2010 at 12:00 am Leave a comment

“Golly, gee, would you look at that rain?”

Wednesday was one of those glum days that needed an adrenaline shot in the form of fashion. Ok, so, perhaps a silk dress wasn’t the wisest choice for rain, what with its tendency to cling, but at least I brightened up my own environment a bit!

You’ve seen this Simply Vera dress (size 10) before (here, with the widely loathed green tights), and I didn’t do a whole lot differently this time:

Simply ditched the jacket & tights, changed out the belt to a black, thrifted Ralph Lauren leather belt – the width of which seemed to add one more color block to the look, smack between the orange straps and the purple hem – and swapped heels for flat sandals (Mossimo). As you can see in the above photo, however, the heaviness of the leather against the smoothness of the silk caused the belt to slide down quite a bit. That got annoying, and by the end of the day, I took it off. It was really odd to wear a dress like this without a belt, I must say.

Faux Tiffany necklace from Mom, earrings & metallic headband from New York & Co. I am SO SAD that this headband is starting to come apart on the other side, right where the metal is bound to the elastic. I may have to make a trip to the new Michael’s for some emergency crafting fix-it essentials!

Also, blog note: my updates may be a bit sparser lately since I will be moving in the next couple of weeks. I mentioned before that I’d be in the same building, just a lower floor – but that changed once again, and instead I’ll be on a higher floor! It won’t be as sweet a view as my current corner digs, but I’m so glad that I’ll still have some lake & skyline instead of ugly, dirty rooftops. And did I mention the walk-in closet?! *angel chorus*

In closing, some begging a polite request – could you do me a favor and click to vote me higher in the Mad Men contest today? I’m so shocked at the amount of… to put it mildly, Facebook-quality photos and lame headshots that are ahead of me and other super-deserving entries. I mean. Really. I’m no Joan Holloway, but I am at least fiercer than Peggy in that pic, and that is a fact! And spread the word? xoxo

Entry filed under: Blog Notes, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

ooh la la! anyweargirl winner! easy, breezy, lucky

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

