modcloth avocado orchard dress

July 30, 2010 at 12:41 pm 6 comments

Those of you who follow me on Twitter got a little sneak peek at this yesterday. A while back, I was browsing ModCloth, like ya do, lusting after many a lovely frock (also like ya do), when I came across the Avocado Orchard Dress. I got weak in the knees at the mere sight of it! The cut! That belt! Those colors! But it was OUT OF STOCK! So I signed up for their handy “Alert me when this is back in stock” feature, figured it would never be back in stock, and promptly forgot about it. Then I got an email with the following subject line:

Avocado Orchard Dress – Hurry, it’s back in stock!

Oh. Ooh. HURRY I DID!

Don’t you love it? :)

I got the dress, by Heartbreaker, in a size Medium, and it fits pretty darn perfectly. The only very minor issue is that the sleeves are just a tiny bit snug, but not so much to the point of discomfort. In fact, after wearing it for a few hours, it feels totally fine. Some reviews said there was way too much room in the bust and what seemed like extra fabric in the shoulder area; but I’m not overly blessed up top, and it seems fine. As for the extra fabric, I think it just needs a little adjusting (and it may also be an issue of posture) because I don’t see that as a problem either.

I just love the pattern (even though, as a friend pointed out, it resembles the BP logo…) and the colors. And check out the belt:

So cute! I can’t wait to wear it with other things (and, in turn, pair other belts with this dress). It has a tendency to not stay tightly clasped, but no matter. Easy adjustment.

I felt like this dress required wedges, so it was between these and my white ones, but this No Boundaries pair won out for being so fun. I just thought they complemented the dress really well.

Simple faux Tiffany pendant & owl earrings from my mom. Though this isn’t the greatest shot of the latter. Let’s try again.

Better?

It was cloudy this morning, and I’m still not feeling remotely great – and the dress really could’ve used an ironing, let’s be honest – but I couldn’t wait to wear this dress & brighten up. I feel like clothes can act as a placebo of sorts. Look fabulous, feel fabulous! Dress cheerfully, feel cheerful!

Ok, so, maybe it didn’t work wonders – I had another coughing fit on the train and had to get off at Addison to buy water, and I had another one at work. But at least the sun is peeking through the clouds now and then. That’s something!

Hopefully y’all love this one as much as I do. I literally jumped for joy yesterday when it arrived. And now I’ma jump (for your love!) again!

PS: Have you voted today? :) :) :) Voting is through September, and I need all the daily clicks I can get! You can even vote from your phone! Just sayin’. ;) What do you think, can we break 1,000 votes today?? GO!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

mad style turban-style

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sarah pants  |  July 30, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    i think i just crapped my pants at how awesome that dress is. i just want to go vacuum and make a pie it’s that freak’n awesome. I’ve never been to this modcloth site before… but now i’ll be spending the rest of the day browsing instead of working. yay!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      bahahhaa, Sarahpants, I love you. I can’t believe you’ve never been to ModCloth… yes, yes you will spend all day there!

      Reply
  • 3. Jackie  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    Such a cute dress! It will be great for fall, too. Think how cute it will look with a great coat and a scarf!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:56 pm

      Thanks! I’m already thinking about colored tights and boots too! :)

      Reply
  • 5. liz  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    AWESOME dress. I’d jump for joy too!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:56 pm

      THANKS! Couldn’t help myself. :}

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

