mad style

July 29, 2010 at 11:20 am 12 comments

Well, after MUCH consideration, I submitted my original photo in the Mad Men casting call contest! Here’s a screenshot:

Click to vote daily! As you can see, I didn’t wear the dress I’d planned on (which was really more ’40s than ’60s) and didn’t even take photos in the downtown location I’d originally wanted to, but I’m happy with it. Thanks for the help, Katy! (Dress details here, shoes: Nine West.)

I’m going to share a lot more photos from the photoshoot, and I’m definitely interested in what you like, but PLEASE don’t tell me “You should’ve used THAT ONE!” As my friends know, I agonized over the decision much more than a 27-year-old should, trust me!

Just so you know, these photos are a mix of “potential entry” shots, candids, and “playing with angles” shots, etc. These first few are photos I took by myself with my camera’s timer.

And the rest of the photos were taken by my friend Katy – once again, many thanks! First we tried to re-create the gardening shots I took, but they just didn’t work. And sadly, the scooter was gone when Katy arrived!

By the way, if I didn’t already hate smoking, this would have sealed the deal. And I didn’t even inhale. The things I do for you, Mad Men! Doesn’t help that my throat hurt before all the smoking, and now I feel even worse. Hopefully my sick day and meds will do me some good.

Speaking of which, I think it’s time for more Chloraseptic. Mmm, so sexy & stylish!

If you’re so inclined, I would REALLY APPRECIATE your daily votes. I submitted later than a lot of people, so I have some serious catching up to do! Pass it along, Facebook it, Tweet it, whatever! How dreamy would it be to win?! Ok, so my expectations aren’t that grand, but it’d be cool to make it to the semi-finals. :)

Entry filed under: As Seen on TV, Misadventures. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

casting call sneak peek modcloth avocado orchard dress

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Roush  |  July 29, 2010 at 11:38 am

    All the pictures look great Cara. Nice job.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  July 29, 2010 at 11:39 am

      Thanks! Don’t worry, if I win, I will be sure to credit you for your very insightful input. ;)

      Reply
  • 3. Sue  |  July 29, 2010 at 11:40 am

    You look way more fantastic than I could ever look while gardening and smoking…nice pics Cara! I would vote for you even if you were not my beautiful daughter!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  July 29, 2010 at 1:18 pm

      awww, thanks Mom! :)

      Reply
  • 5. Catherine R  |  July 29, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    The one you picked was absolutely the right one! You’ve got my vote.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  July 29, 2010 at 1:19 pm

      Oh thanks, Catherine! I definitely stressed too much over the ~choice.

      Reply
  • 7. Amy M.  |  July 29, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    You are one sexy lady in these photos! There are a lot of cool shots here but I think you picked the right one. The disgusting smoking aside, it looks like it was a really fun shoot!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  July 29, 2010 at 2:56 pm

      Thanks! And yeah, a couple of times I laughed and accidentally inhaled, and it was even grosser. Stupid cigs. The smoking is era-appropriate & made for cool, ~moody pics, tho!

      Reply
  • 9. SWF_Terra  |  July 29, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Something about the one under the streetlamp intrigues me. I love that you wore this dress. It’s so lovely on you!

    Reply
    • 10. Cara  |  July 29, 2010 at 8:31 pm

      thank you! our original idea was to incorporate the streetlamp… and then we cut it off/zoomed in too much and never got the actual lamp in the pic. Then we felt like the shiny pole was just way too modern to work. Still fun, though!

      And way to keep kicking ass yourself! go go go!! I voted for you too! :)

      Reply
  • 11. Sue Graf  |  July 30, 2010 at 7:25 am

    Cara!
    Smoking and gardening?! You did your mom proud girl!!
    Seriously, you look amazing…these pictures are very cool and you look beautiful-you’ve got my vote!

    Reply
    • 12. Cara  |  July 30, 2010 at 8:59 am

      Hahaha! I didn’t even think of that. Yeah, geez, what an influence my mom has been on me!! ;) Thanks for the vote! Spread the word & vote daily – I’ve got some catching up to do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

