denim pencil skirt + wedges

July 20, 2010 at 9:37 am 2 comments

Totally simple yet still chic & put-together look today:

Then again, I think pencil skirts almost always achieve that feel.

Maroon tank: Greensource (size S – and featured previously here), denim pencil skirt: Old Navy (size 10).

I actually bought the skirt in a size 12 in the store, but I had wavered between that and the size 10. I wore the 12 for a while, but I ultimately felt it was too big, so I donated it to a thrift store. Then, no joke, I found the same skirt in a size 10 AT a thrift store! Only someone had cut out the front pockets and sewn them shut – which actually makes the skirt fit better, in my opinion. When you have hips, pencil skirts can tend to shift when you walk, and the pockets just get bunchy; this alteration reduces that.

Another thing when you have hips and/or badonk: you should really own a pencil skirt. It’s quite kind to the curves, just sayin’.

LOVE these wedges:

I originally thought they were from Payless, but the sole says No Boundaries, which means they’re from Walmart (many summers ago). Eh, I knew it was somewhere cheap. These are so unlike a shoe I would normally wear – I’m not too keen on ankle straps or tall heels – but everything together in this pair just works. The jute & the sequined stripes scream summer!, while the wedge makes them much more stable & comfortable to walk in.

Did I bring a pair of emergency flip-flops just in case, given all the city walking I do? Why yes, I did. But still.

Save earrings, I didn’t even wear any jewelry today (not even a watch! battery died – need a new one), but sometimes simplicity is the perfect accessory.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

feelin’ groovy skirting the issue

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  June 2, 2011 at 11:23 am

    I just bought this same pencil skirt online, and was feeling guilty about the purchase. :] I hope it looks as good on me as it does on you – and the tip about the pockets has been noted.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  June 2, 2011 at 11:27 am

      oh, awesome! good luck, hopefully it works for you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

