black & white & red all over

July 14, 2010 at 10:57 am 6 comments

What’s black & white & red all over? Me!

Please pardon my roommate’s moving boxes. You’ve seen almost this exact retro-style look before, so click here if you want to read what I love about it. This look is just slightly different, however, which leads me to a question. Should I try to avoid the repeats, or do you enjoy seeing looks that have already been featured, as long as they are switched up in some way? Feedback is appreciated!

As the previous post noted, dress: Sequin Hearts (size 9) found at Burlington Coat Factory, black patent belt: Target.

Heels: Sam Edelman (also featured before in my red shoes post). These were the main reason I wanted to post this look today because I rather adored how the multi-sized polka dots of the shoes echoed the polka dots of the dress. In doing so, I also inadvertently mirrored the repetition of the stripes in my previous post – odd & totally unintentional.

Since I guess it’s suddenly a personal trend, what do you think of this kind of look? repeating patterns? Fun or too matchy-matchy/on-the-nose?

Faux pearls: Target, black rose & rhinestone earrings: Betsey Johnson from Nordstrom Rack.

I’ll never get over my pop of color, I’m afraid. Are you tiring of it? Sorry!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

the white stripes feelin’ groovy

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SWF_Terra  |  July 14, 2010 at 11:05 am

    I’m a fan of remixed repeats. WORK IT JOANIE.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  July 14, 2010 at 11:11 am

      oh my goodness, a Joanie shout is such high praise!! thanks for the feedback. :)

      Reply
  • 3. tageborkoff  |  July 14, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    I love the matching patterns so long as they are different sizes. Always pop your color!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  July 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm

      thank you! I try. :)

      Reply
  • 5. Suzanne  |  July 14, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I’m all for repeats- show us what you got, girl!! Love this outfit! When will I not love one?

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  July 18, 2010 at 12:39 pm

      haha! I hope never!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,410 hits since 12/29/2009

