metropolitan party chic

July 11, 2010 at 12:10 pm 9 comments

Oh! –

You caught me. I was absolutely eyeing that Honda Metropolitan and may or may not have sat on it. [Files not found.]

As you can see, I took some pics outside yesterday before my friend Tate‘s 25th birthday party. I really wasn’t sure what to wear since it was a casual BBQ early on & a cocktail party later – Tate himself had a costume change! – but I decided I’d just dress for the cocktail hour early. Because, let’s face it, it’s fun.

I knew I wanted to wear my new Söfft Rachelle strappy heels, and I thought this dress (which I wore to Elizabeth’s bachelorette party) was flirty & fun.

Dress: GO International from Target (size 11), patent skinny belt: also Target. I like how the “stripes” created by the ruffles of the skirt are echoed by the same kind of “stripes” created by the straps of the sandals. And, while I predicted they would be the greatest strappy heels I’d ever wear and praised their comfort, there was indeed a minor issue: there is a seam on the sole that rubbed (on only one foot) and gave me a small blister. For wearing heels of this height for 10 hours, however, they really were outstanding. My feet feel pretty much fine today. Victory!

Leaf earrings: Target, chain necklace: Express.

And some other party fashions…

Jordan dressed in honor of Tate’s love of the monochromatic look in a triple dose of purple! I love his pale violet jeans, and I comment on his cute purple sneakers almost every time he wears them. I know he got some of it at Topman, but I can’t remember which pieces.

I loved Steve’s look – I think he perfectly captured both the BBQ + cocktail segments of the party in a single ensemble.

And the birthday boy himself!

This is but a small preview of the glam we’ll bring when I’m his date to the TONYs in the coming years. Read about what he’s wearing here.

Tate’s invitation said, “Dress up (if you want)! Fancy shoes (if you have them) are a plus!!” Oh yes, indeed!

What are your favorite or fanciest shoes? A toast to shoes!

Entry filed under: Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

navy stripes, ahoy! $30 dye job

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tageborkoff  |  July 11, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    I love that first picture of you! You looked so fantastic yesterday, thanks for coming!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  July 11, 2010 at 12:47 pm

      Oh thank you! And thanks for hosting such a fabulous birthday party. I’m glad you were born!

      Reply
  • 3. Joshua  |  July 11, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    love love love the pix.

    and thanks for the topman rec.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  July 11, 2010 at 11:31 pm

      thank you – and you’re welcome. :)

      Reply
  • 5. Richard  |  July 11, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    This is an AWESOME dress.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  July 11, 2010 at 11:31 pm

      thanks! I debated buying it at the time – wasn’t sure about fit and price – but am so glad I did. It’s so fun to wear! :)

      Reply
  • 7. Jenny  |  July 12, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    SPARKLE SHOES!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  July 12, 2010 at 2:00 pm

      BEST!!

      Hey, when am I gonna see pics from the black tie wedding you went to? I wanna see the hotness!

      Reply
      • 9. Jenny  |  July 13, 2010 at 11:46 am

        oh yeah! i forgot…there are some pics posted from other people but i need to upload pics from ryan’s camera :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

