the greatest strappy heels you’ll ever wear

July 3, 2010 at 5:39 pm 4 comments

Ok, so maybe that title is a bit premature. But let me tell you a little story.

Once upon a time, on my birthday, just a few months back, my mother came to visit me here in Chicago. April showers fell, and we took refuge in store after store, zipping in and out all along State Street. When lo, what should be found in the land of Nordstrom Rack but a beauteous sight! Wonderful black strappy heels – by Michael Kors – beckoned me to put them on. As it was my birthday, I could not say no. They were hot, sexy – and mysterious. Such high style came with a high price tag, so I could not make them mine at the time; but when I went searching for them in the vast internet later, I found nothing.

Or did I? Would eBay be my savior? Thinking I had found the desired pair at a fraction of the cost – new in box, no less! – I put in a bid on eBay and promptly forgot about it. Then I won! They arrived in a box with a Nordstrom sticker attached. I tried them on; they were ok. But I looked back at pictures Mom took on my birthday (which she has yet to post or send), and my heart fell – they were not the same shoes!

So they sat in my room. Until today.

For those of you who don’t know, Nordstrom has an incredible return policy. You can return almost anything there, new or not, receipt or not, for store credit. Since my box had a Nordstrom sticker on it, I knew I’d have no problem. So I went in to return the Michael Kors Berkley sandal. An extremely attractive man who could have been Taye Diggs’ brother – in a jazzy pink tie! – helped me when I wanted to try on the Rachelle by… (serious shock!) Söfft. This is a comfort brand, and I couldn’t believe how awesome these shoes looked. When I tried them on, I was gobsmacked. They have cushioning like you wouldn’t believe!

So anyway I got them, and they rule. The end!

Here they are, the Söfft Rachelle sandal. Ok, so I haven’t actually worn them out and about yet (hoping to wear them to my good friend Tate‘s birthday party next week), but I’m still fairly confident that they’re the greatest strappy heels I’ll ever wear – and you too, if you got them.

Absolutely don’t go with this (although I bet the sand color would go beautifully), but I just put them on to show you. If I had lots of money, I’d buy the other colors too. But I don’t!

The heel is 3.5 inches, but the .5-inch platform in the front (seen above) & all the cushioning makes them feel like nothing. Plus the stacked heel itself is wider and really stable, unlike crazy stilettos.

Love the gold studs and hardware, too. Sexy can I?

Entry filed under: Sales, Recs & Likes, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

blue skies, blue shoes navy stripes, ahoy!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzanne  |  July 3, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    love love love them!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  July 3, 2010 at 6:23 pm

      THANKS! I want to go kick ass in these, tbh.

      Reply
      • 3. Suzanne  |  July 3, 2010 at 6:54 pm

        Haha as well you should!

  • 4. fitinclouds  |  July 5, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Great heels! Love the shoes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

