whale of a tale

June 26, 2010 at 10:03 pm Leave a comment

What do you think?

Too much?

I threw together this nautical look for bopping around today. I absolutely love the nautical trend, though I hesitate to even call it a trend because it’s so classic. Like the ocean tide, its popularity ebbs and wanes, though right now it seems to be experiencing a surge as anchors and other similarly nautical items fill the racks.

Oh my, there’s a skull & crossbones on this pirate’s booty!

Hat: H&M, red tank: ProSpirit (size M), navy shorts with white whale and skull & crossbones embroidery: Libertine for Target (size 13) from their Summer 2007 GO International collection. While, as I said, I’m reluctant to call nautical style a “trend,” these shorts are absolutely trendy, and I almost didn’t get them because they are so very… I don’t know, Hot Topic twee? (Sometimes I use this word, and people don’t know what it means, so here you go.)

They had too many adorable elements to pass up, however, and they fit really well (better than appears here – pardon the wrinkles from sitting on the bus today).

Love the buckle and tiny (useless!) pocket.

More buckles at the waistline on each side on the back. Gosh, why do I love these tiny whales so much?!

I actually wore different shoes out & about today because I wanted to stop at Payless and look for these completely adorable flip-flops that were only available in size 11/12 on their website:

I ended up having to go to 3 different stores to find my size! Store 1 also only had the 11/12, which was huge. Store 1 called the wrong Store 2 for a size 9/10, which meant I got a coupon for $3.00 off to use at Store 3, making these American Eagle (the Payless brand, not to be confused with AE Outfitters) sandals just $4.99! They are cute and comfortable, unlike a lot of hard flip-flops. Payless actually has a lot of cute ones right now for extremely low prices – I also grabbed these cute buckle flip-flops in red.

Necklace and rope bracelet: American Eagle (Outfitters) – haha, the rope bracelet might be a bit too on the nose, but I couldn’t resist.

Also a little bit of news: my lease in this apartment is up July 31, so I’m moving! Since my roommate is moving back to Florida, I’ll be vacating our glorious 2-bedroom on the 13th floor and downsizing to a studio on the 6th floor of my current building. Only worth mentioning for two reasons:

1. The walk-in closet is going to be awesome!
2. The background of my blog pics will be less cool. I’m going to miss this view!

Entry filed under: Trends, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

show your PRIDE! Chicago PRIDE Fest Fashion

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

