show your PRIDE!

June 26, 2010 at 3:18 pm Leave a comment

It’s Pride weekend here in Chicago! My plans fell through last time around, so I’m excited to finally participate in the festivities this year. I’m not sure yet what to wear to the parade tomorrow, but I knew I wanted to do my nails up all rainbow bright!

So it’s not a true Roy G. Biv rainbow, but it’s close enough. Details ahead…


(Click for larger)

1. Revlon Quick Dry Base Coat (1 coat)
2. Cover Girl 540 Perfect Penny (2 coats)
3. Wet ‘n Wild 232 Goldmine (3 coats)
4. Sally Hansen Complete Manicure 430 Grass Slipper (2 coats)


5. Sally Hansen HD 03 Pixel Pretty (2 coats)
6. Shades Barielle 5069 Grape Escape (2 coats)
7. Revlon Colorstay Sealing Shine (1 coat on the matte polishes for some sparkle)
8. Revlon Extra Life No Chip Top Coat (1 coat)

I’ve tried a lot of base and top coats, and it just goes to show that sometimes simple drugstore items really are the best. These Revlon base & top coats work better for me than any Sally, OPI, Seche Vite, etc. I’ve gone 3 weeks without chips before, and the extra coats/time/work is definitely worth it in my book! Check them out next time you’re in the market, and let me know if they work for you too.

And here’s the (backwards) rainbow in natural light:

It’s definitely a mix of high quality and super cheap, low-quality, uneven polishes, but for this fun little project, they serve their purpose.

When my friend Elizabeth saw this post, she was reminded of Dexter – haha!

Can’t believe I didn’t immediately think of it myself.

On a serious note, I grew up in a small town and came from a Christian background. I’m thankful for those things, but I can’t believe I ever grew up with negative thoughts of any kind about people just because they’re different from me or from what the loudest talking heads of organized religion said was “right.” God doesn’t hate gays. Jesus was about love. We may be products of our environment, but it’s not an excuse for ignorance, persecution, cruelty, or discrimination. There is so much more to the world, and it doesn’t matter where you come from or how you’re raised when you open up your mind and heart to people and love them for who they are. Isn’t life all about living and loving to the fullest? That’s what Pride is about for me, and I can’t wait to share it with all my friends, old and new, whom I love so much.

Also:

Valid question.

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

in bloom – sine hollyhock, take 2 whale of a tale

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

