in bloom – sine hollyhock, take 2

June 25, 2010 at 3:47 pm 6 comments

I have been in such a good mood today – it’s Friday! it’s my friend William’s birthday! and I love my look today! And this one is a genuine day-to-night, office-to-out ensemble, too.

You’ve seen this dress before, but that was in a most ridiculous, staying-in-on-Friday-night silly post. Not so today. No, today I feel I am done up right, if I may say so myself!

Sine hollyhock dress (size 8): Anthropologie, ruffled grey cardigan: Express, braided sandals for comfort and bug-bite-avoidance: Mossimo.

I’m not totally in love with the grey-on-grey, and mixing ruffles with such a bright floral print may be a bit busy, but I still think it works and is most definitely office appropriate. (And you know how I like to rework dresses as skirts, of sorts.) I was actually lamenting a bit the fact that this dress would be difficult to dress down in such a way – and I’d tried other cardigans over it before with no success – but the trick is in mostly covering the unique straps of the dress (we’ll get to that).

Earrings: Presence boutique. I do really love the ruffles in multiple textures too.

Back to the aforementioned straps, simply taking off the cardigan and throwing on a necklace turns this into a really dramatic evening look:

J’ADORE! I wrote about it in the previous post as well, but I cannot get over how much I love this bodice – fits me like a glove, and the accenting piping is just divine.

Also love the exposed zipper. I don’t know why I’m loving the sort of deconstructed/unfinished aspect of that, but for some reason I do!

Ok, so it does bunch/pouf up a bit in the rear, especially when I walk, but whatever. Truly. Baby got back, so what?

I was also worried that a necklace would distract from the killer straps & neckline, but I thought a choker might work:

This chain-link one from Express was pretty perfect in my book.

Too bad pretty much all the guys I’m going out with tonight are gay, huh? Oh well, LET’S PARTY!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

coral relief show your PRIDE!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  June 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I love this look! Fantastically done, girl.

    Also, I have been wearing dresses more & more of late, and I definitely have you to thank for that. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  June 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm

      Thank you! And I am so glad to hear that! I love ’em. :)

      Reply
  • […] now, but who cares. My outfit was originally a little different, but the Cara had to look DROP-DEAD AMAZING so I upped the […]

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  June 26, 2010 at 2:12 pm

      You (and your ass) looked amazing too! Never question dressing up too much! ;)

      Reply
  • 5. SWF_Terra  |  June 26, 2010 at 7:21 am

    The cardi looks perfect. Don’t question it. And I cannot believe how the cardi completely transforms the dress. It looks so soft and demure and then POW! Do your colleagues know what you’re hiding? Those are the best secrets.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  June 26, 2010 at 2:13 pm

      Thank you!! Haha, I did feel a little sneaky all day, but I took off the cardi as soon as I left my office and walked to the el – too hot! So a few coworkers might have seen it then. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

