that lavender blonde

June 23, 2010 at 10:45 am 2 comments

Guys, guess what – it’s already hump day! [Insert creepster Will Schuester seduction here.] Thaaank God, Allah, Xenu, Gaga, etc.

You’ve already seen this $7 dress (maybe several times), but here you are anyway:

Yep, that’s right, $7 for a silk Simply Vera dress (size 4) on clearance at Kohl’s. I’ve already written about that before, but I’m no less proud of the score today. Tan flats: Nine West.

I’ve also written about how much I love this dress before (in one of my fave outfit posts), so I’ll spare you the details again. Nail polish here is OPI Pink Flamenco (LOVE the color, but it’s chipping a ton just 2 days later. Grrr.)

But the main point of this post is to show off my new earrings from Gilt Groupe:

For those who don’t know, Gilt is an invite-only site that offers deep discounts on designer items through limited-time “flash” sales. (If you want to read more, click here; if you’d like an invite to join, click here!) I actually usually delete the emails so as not to tempt myself; but when I logged in to check out a sale that my friend Jordan mentioned, I noticed that jewelry by Cara Couture was on sale. With a name like that, did I have a choice in buying something? I think not! I debated between these classic love knot earrings and some brighter, more fun purple and pink flowers, but the choice was clear:

I’m sure some of you may balk at a price of $32 for earrings, but these 1-inch, hematite-plated studs with crystals were originally $98, so it was a good deal (and you often get what you pay for as far as jewelry quality goes). I really didn’t have any such simple, elegant earrings, so I felt they were a good investment. The knot style, the crystals, and the size all add up to a timeless & incredibly versatile pair that I’ll be able to wear for a long time with many different things. Plus:

Sparkly! Lahv lahv lahv.

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Sales, Recs & Likes, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

strapless boho sun dress coral relief

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  June 23, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    mmm, sparkles….

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  June 24, 2010 at 12:11 am

      ;}

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,473 hits since 12/29/2009

