strapless boho sun dress

June 22, 2010 at 11:46 am 2 comments

This weekend was quite a roller coaster – some really fun moments mixed with some pretty crappy ones – so please forgive the lack of hilariously clever & amusing commentary today.

My mom bought me this sun dress for $14.99 at Burlington Coat Factory (they have a TON of cute sun dresses right now, fyi):

Smocked & stretchy, this dress by Speed Control (size M) is beyond comfy. Black shrug: White House Black Market. Flip flops (necessary due to some HORRIBLE, inflamed mosquito bites on my feet): Havaianas that I got on serious sale at Gap a while back (I got the ‘Slim’ style, not the regular, which doesn’t appear on Gap’s site but can be found elsewhere, like Zappos).

I like that the elastic part of the top is wider/longer than most – instead of just the bust being elasticized, this one is stretchy down to the waist, creating a more flattering silhouette and downplaying that potential maternity aspect of an empire waist. I also love the colors and boho look of the print, which has a slightly Moroccan feel to it, I think.

Glimpse of the earrings: American Eagle. And I really love the crap out of this necklace, partially because of what it is and where it came from. First of all, it’s a cool & unique look, semi lariat, I guess? I also dig birds (guilty of falling into that trend for sure), and I think it’s just plain pretty. As for what it is? It’s Disney. Part of the Alice in Wonderland merchandise. And I got it for $5 at Walmart. Yup. I actually loved almost all the movie tie-in jewelry; it was all really cute and didn’t scream Disney or Alice. They also had a cute little rabbit ring, with the rabbit “jumping” across your finger… but it looked a little too much like the rabbit was humping your finger, so I passed on that.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

pewter print-cess that lavender blonde

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Roxanne  |  June 22, 2010 at 11:55 am

    that dress is super cute!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  June 22, 2010 at 11:57 am

      thank you! I can’t get over how comfy it is. And idk if there are any Burlingtons in or around the city (got it at home this weekend), but if so, you should go – they had a TON of cute ones. Maxi dresses, too, but I’m still a little scared to try a maxi dress.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,376 hits since 12/29/2009

