warning: contains violet content

June 11, 2010 at 10:38 am 6 comments

T.G.I.F.!

Just another belted cotton dress today, but it’s hot & humid & oh, did I mention Friday? I had such a difficult time waking up this morning. Anyone else? I just stood in my bathroom leaning against the counter for like 5 straight minutes at one point, blinking. Fact: I need more sleep. However… plenty of time to sleep when I’m dead. ;)

Cotton dress by Four Stars (size L): TJ Maxx – probably the capri leggings too. I can’t remember. Teal flats: Urban Outfitters.

As I’ve said before, I don’t remember where I got this paisley belt, but it came with something, like a dress or a skirt. I’ve used it before in my hair, but I like how this looks. I used to wear this dress with no belt, but it just felt too night-shirt-ish and really made me look larger than I am. Hence, belt! Problem solved. Also, I don’t love the leggings with this, and really it’s hot & muggy enough today to not need them, but every time a skirt or dress borders on the line of possibly too short on my 5’8″ frame (which happens a lot because EVERYTHING IS SHORT these days – I couldn’t even find a regular denim skirt at Gap because they’re all distressed minis, ick!), leggings or tights just make me feel more comfortable, should the Windy City decide to live up to its name and blow me over. And when you’re more comfortable, you’re just more confident, period.

Here you can see my fave part of this dress, the braiding detail at the neckline. Because of that standout feature, I went more simple on the jewelry with my Illinois state quarter pendant by Jack Landstra and favorite go-to faux turquoise earrings from Presence boutique. They go. with. everything. Also been switching up my makeup a bit lately – black liner and a more nude lip. This isn’t a great pic of the makeup, but I’m digging it.

More detail on the pendant and neckline, and you can also see here my rhinestone sailor knot rope bracelet from American Eagle (I love this thing) and freshly applied purple nail polish that I actually found at Delia’s at Woodfield. I did not intend to be so purple today, and, in fact, my L’Oréal Waters Edge would have accented this look much better, but I wanted to try the new polish last night. I have to say, it went on quite bumpy, but I’m not sure if it was ill-applied by me or if it’s the polish. Another wear another time will tell. Still a fun shade, though.

Also that L’Oréal polish is incredible. My toes still look pretty much exactly as they did in the original post 3 weeks ago! I’m sure my favorite Revlon base and top coats have helped, but that is some crazy-good wear.

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

all wrapped up too hot for leggings!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hadeis  |  June 11, 2010 at 11:22 am

    That belt looks amazing with that dress. I always love how you’re so willing to play with color. (i.e. Teal flats with purple dress) I see too much matchy when I’m out and about in Chicago. And you look fabulous.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  June 11, 2010 at 12:31 pm

      Thank you so much! Someone recently derided my exploits in colors, so I’m glad you like it. :) I do too!

      Reply
  • 3. Amy M.  |  June 11, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    love this look so so much. I especially like how well the earrings (even though they go with everything) go with the belt. well done.
    Also, that dress makes you look so tiny in the waist! :-)
    And I love the ring I see in your nail polish pic that you didn’t even mention in the entry. Simple and sparkley.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  June 11, 2010 at 3:47 pm

      Oh thank you! I tend to forget/not mention the ring because I’ve had it for 11 years. Got it as a gift from my mom for my 16th birthday. There are 12 diamonds in it – I joked that there should be 16. ;P I used to wear a claddagh ring that I never removed, but boys are stupid, and mom isn’t – now I never take it off.

      Reply
  • 5. Suzanne  |  June 11, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    This outfit is really great- definitely one of my favorites (and to think you were going through a dry spell!) Get it, girl!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  June 12, 2010 at 4:26 pm

      Oh awesome, thanks! :D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

