all wrapped up

June 8, 2010 at 9:55 am 2 comments

Oh, hello, blog. It’s been a while. In truth, I’ve just been recycling a lot of looks lately that were already featured here, so I didn’t feel I had much that merited a post. But I haven’t featured this dress here yet!

Stacy and Clinton have always been champions of the wrap dress, but I always thought that, because of my hips, I couldn’t wear them. Turns out… not so. In fact, I love pretty much everything about this navy Merona wrap dress from Target.

I’m not convinced this is the right length for me (it could probably come up a bit), but the neckline, the half-sleeves, the waist-cinching, the forgiving print – all of it just comes together to work pretty fantastically. If you ladies have yet to try a wrap dress, I highly recommend adding one to your wardrobe. I actually think it’s an essential that every woman should own. They can be a little intimidating, a little risky – why yes, I did pin the neckline just to be safe, and yes, that Chicago wind did whip the skirt up to flash some serious leg this morning; readjustment was necessary – but when you can find the right one, it becomes an effortless, stylish look.

Paired with my Nine West red patent peep toes because I love the color combo. It’s really classic, has a very Ralph Lauren Americana feel to it, I think. They’re just strong, saturated shades.

Continued the classic feel (which is still livened up by a more modern print) with simple jewelry: faux pearls (from Target maybe?) and drop earrings from New York & Company.

So have any of you gals found success with a wrap dress? Or are you still in search of the right one?

Entry filed under: Wardrobe Essentials, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

long & lean + jeans warning: contains violet content

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzanne  |  June 8, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    I’m definitely interested in a wrap dress, but haven’t found the perfect one yet.

    LOVE the shoes!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  June 10, 2010 at 12:24 am

      Keep me posted on a dress – and THANKS on the shoes! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

