marooned

May 30, 2010 at 11:57 pm 2 comments

Memorial Day weekend means it is finally feeling like summertime in the city, and I have been maximizing my time and especially FUN to the extreme. Saturday was particularly jam-packed, hitting up IML (International Mr. Leather conference – purely for the people-watching, which was just as hilarious as we anticipated), then visiting our friend Tate at Louis Vuitton (my first time in the store – we got champagne!), then shopping with William, then off to Pops for Champagne with the boys, followed by Kit Kat and Piehole Pizza. Whew! And during all that running around, I wore this:

Totally casual, nothing super special – jeans: L.e.i., gladiator sandals: Steve Madden, chain bracelet (a nod to IML): H&M, maroon tank: Greensource (size S).

I absolutely fell in love with this tank when I went to Iowa a few weekends ago, and my friend Nicole was wearing it. I asked where she got it, and she said Sam’s Club actually. No stranger to finding cute things at big box wholesalers (hello, CostCo!), I was eager to get one myself, so we made the trip. It’s organic cotton, so it’s super comfy, and of course I adore the embellishment: I like the juxtaposition of squares forming a curve, and I love all the multi-toned metallics. The look feels sorta Cleopatra actually, in a good way. No necklace since I didn’t want to compete with the pretty neckline.

And Sunday was spent on a boat on Lake Michigan with friends!

Oooh, I am fried – not sunburnt, though; I slathered on the SPF 70 at least three times (and still got a little color on my face) – just sunsoaked. All that sun can really suck your energy!

Hope everyone’s having a great Memorial Day weekend!

Entry filed under: Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

green gladiator girl long & lean + jeans

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kat  |  June 2, 2010 at 10:00 pm

    I had my eyes on those shoes. They are HOT.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  June 3, 2010 at 7:52 am

      Thank you. I will be very sad when they fall apart for good.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,862 hits since 12/29/2009

