simple shirt dress

May 19, 2010 at 11:37 am 9 comments

Do you have a favorite outfit? I think most people do. It’s that one go-to look that is easy, cute, and just plain makes you feel good. For my good friend Jamie, it’s her black shirt dress. I love a shirt dress, and frankly, what gal doesn’t? They couldn’t get more simple or flattering.

So, as an homage to Jamie, here’s my black shirt dress!

Picked up this Merona pintuck shirt dress (size M) at Target last week on clearance for $17 (I can only find the petite version on their website).

I didn’t get a detailed enough shot, so here’s the closeup from Target’s website. Love the pockets and pintucking, as well as the waist-cinching tie belt seen in the first pic.

Even the cap sleeves work here, I think, and I don’t always love a cap sleeve. Why yes, it is shorter in the back. I can’t help it!

Shoes: Nine West tan, studded flats. Check my scraped up foot – got that one from my second slip-and-fall two Fridays ago. Joy! At least it’s almost gone. I have these shoes in black, too, but I felt that just would’ve been too much black. Plus I’m always a champion of mixing neutrals – they still go, and it’s just more interesting to look at usually.

Green faux stone earrings: Target. And my faux Tiffany charm necklace is hidden – oops!

Topped off with my fave Guess jacket. Oh sunny day, welcome! Let me drink you in!

Tonight: Conan O’Brien at the Chicago Theatre! Beyond excited. :) VIVA COCO!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

i’m just gonna leave this here… a lady & a gentleman

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jamie  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Yay! I love the black shirt dress! And with tan shoes!!! I learned black and brown goes well together. ;)

    Also have fun with CONANDOOOOOOOOOOOO.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:24 pm

      Oh really? Why, whoever taught you that must be super smart! ;)

      CONANDOOO! I hope he still has his beard. I loves it.

      Reply
  • 3. Andrea  |  May 19, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Omg, omg, I totally have that dress in the fuschia-y color! I feel so stylish to have something that you have, lol!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  May 20, 2010 at 12:11 am

      aww, haha, WORK IT! :D I bet that color looks fab on you!

      Reply
  • 5. Jenny  |  May 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    I’ve totally seen that dress on the clearance rack at target (I think, could have been a wrap dress of similar style). I never tried it on b/c I don’t usually like capped sleeves either, but maybe I’ll go try it on now. :)

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  May 20, 2010 at 12:12 am

      Yes yes! And legit wrap dresses are ok; but I tried on that one that one of Elizabeth’s friends wore to her wedding (AGAIN), and it just looked WEIRD. It fits funny. Not sure what it is. So careful with some of the wraps that may be like that.

      Reply
  • 7. Marti  |  May 20, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    Love that jacket!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  May 20, 2010 at 8:46 pm

      Thanks! The pockets went to crap unfortunately – I need to mend them.

      Reply
  • 9. Amy M.  |  May 21, 2010 at 7:41 am

    You make me want to shop at Target so bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

