watercolor racerback & skinnies

May 18, 2010 at 11:52 am 12 comments

Yesterday was a bit of a rough Monday for me, to the point that I began to feel the need to something drastic, like dye my hair dark brown or get a tattoo or adopt a puppy. While some of those might work ok, the feeling mercifully passed (for the moment), thanks in large part to good fun with good friends later in the evening.

I woke up this morning feeling good, too, and once I got dressed, I felt great. When you like the way you look, you carry yourself completely differently; you walk with confidence, hold your head higher, stand up straighter, and maybe even strut.

“Confidence, Cohen!” (Oh, how I miss The OC!)

Anyway, check the look:

Don’t worry – I really do have 2 legs. I’m just standing like a crazy person!

Lots of layering happening, which always makes for a visually interesting look.  LOVE this watercolor-like Xhilaration semi-sheer tank – so much so that I bought it in a size L because they had no Ms (there are several here, but I don’t see my print, which was obviously my favorite – click thumb at right for larger). I think the L still works since it’s so flowy (also a bit of a “mullet tank,” I guess, as it’s shorter in the front and longer in the back, hah!) and bright in its design. I’m wearing a simple Mossimo long & lean tank underneath (size M) and threw my purple New York & Co. cardi over it since it’s usually cool in my office. I later thought I should’ve chosen a different color, as this is a lot of purple/darks, but oh well. My fave new skinnies are by L.e.i. (size 15) and were $13 at Walmart (and only $8 online).  I will not apologize for Walmart attire at these prices and comfort/cuteness levels; I really will not. Deal with it, world.

I cannot wait to wear this sans cardi in the summer!

And check the cute racerback (a style I’m not always that fond of):

I just love how this top feels, too. It’s so lightweight and soft.

Shoes:

Oh yes, oh YES, the grey, suede Steve Madden booties. <3 So far, so good on walking in these today! But ask me again when I’m trekking home from the South Loop around 11:00 tonight…

Accessories!

These earrings (from Presence boutique, I believe) are almost too matchy-matchy, but they go SO well – and I love them and don’t get to wear them enough – that I had to wear ’em. First Illinois state quarter necklace: Jack Landstra, second longer leaf necklace (cut off here – visible above, though): H&M, amber ring: Grandma. I unintentionally have a bit of a leaf motif happening with the longer necklace, ring, and top, which has some leaves in its pattern (see thumbnail above), but I think it works, yeah?

Tonight: the last regular episode of LOST before the series finale on Sunday. (CRYING IN ADVANCE.)

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

navy baby i’m just gonna leave this here…

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. allison  |  May 18, 2010 at 11:57 am

    I LOVE those boots! Where did you get them?

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  May 18, 2010 at 12:00 pm

      Thank you! I found them on clearance at Macy’s for a great deal (30% off, plus a 25% friends & family coupon discount). You could call or visit your local stores to see what they have left. Style is Steve Madden Peonny (that was the spelling on the box – you could search Peony with one N as well), and I have seen a few online (I linked to one) in limited sizes. Good luck! Let me know if you find them! :)

      Reply
  • 3. Jordan  |  May 18, 2010 at 1:15 pm

    You look fantastic today! I love everything about the outfit, but especially that tank. And I understand you wanting warmer weather so you can wear it without the cardigan, but I think it’s a perfect fit for the look. KUDOSCARA!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  May 18, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      thank you! I will wear it picnicking someday! #CABOOV <3

      Reply
  • 5. Andrea  |  May 18, 2010 at 1:23 pm

    I miss the O.C. too! And tubs of Rocky Road. Good times.

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  May 18, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      OMG. Me too!! Can’t wait to see you on Thursday!

      Reply
  • 7. Suzanne  |  May 18, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    LOVE this look. This is probably my favorite of anything you’ve posted!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:07 pm

      oh wow, really? THANKS!

      Reply
  • 9. Amy M.  |  May 19, 2010 at 8:19 am

    I love this outfit Cara! That tank is wonderful. :-)

    Reply
    • 10. Cara  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:07 pm

      Why thank you! I am so eager to wear it this summer!

      Reply
  • 11. SWF_Terra  |  May 19, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Ok yeah. Love those booties. Steve Madden is where it’s at.

    Reply
    • 12. Cara  |  May 19, 2010 at 12:09 pm

      Ugh, I know, right? Steve Madden gets a little bit of snobbish hate, I think, because he rips off designer styles. But… some of us can’t afford those, sooo at least he knows his audience!

      They would’ve been 100% fine had I just gone home after work, too – but I did too much walking, and the dogs were barkin’! Yowch! Lesson learned.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

