navy baby

May 16, 2010 at 6:33 pm 8 comments

Everyone have a good weekend? I did, despite spending 8 hours total on a bus – all to and from Iowa for a barbecue and joint birthday-graduation party with friends old and new. And to wear?

I went with this fun cotton tank dress from Mossimo (size M), brown leggings from No Boundaries, and teal flats from Urban Outfitters. The shoes don’t entirely go, I know, but after those Michael Kors heels on Friday – and with hours of travel in my future – I was all about comfort, plain and simple.

Despite the skirt material being rather thin, I like this tank dress, which is both comfortable and cute (especially the waistline that ties in the back). It came in a few colors and prints, but this was my favorite in my size – I’m loving navy lately – and heather grey just looks a bit cheap to me in general, so I couldn’t go with that one. I don’t love the leggings with this either, but the skirt is on the borderline of being too short on me. When you’re 5’8″ and have any sort of hips/booty, it can be difficult to wear a lot of the shorter dresses and skirts that are so popular right now without feeling self-conscious and having to be careful in all your movements. I would love it if the trends would shift! But I’m not holding my breath.

Brown leather flower headband and gold feather earrings: also Target – I was almost a walking ad for them, eh?

Sacagawea dollar pendant from Grandma (on a different chain since I busted the original, which has since been fixed – thanks, Nicole!), owl ring: Aldo Accessories, nail polish: OPI Sapphire in the Snow.

Also threw on my Lucky denim jacket, scored at Crossroads, which I always forget I have. Plus I wear jeans a lot, and if you wear a denim jacket with jeans, too often you risk the Texas Tuxedo look (which is beyond tragic), so I avoid and thus forget about the jacket. I think it looks great with this dress, however, and I’m excited to wear it with my other springy cotton dresses!

And now just a couple of pics (thanks to Nicole again):

After Tom shared that he was “rockin’ out to Taylor Swift in Band Hero last night,” I was compelled to first question how Taylor Swift somehow qualifies for the game Band Hero (seriously – she is not a band!) before emphatically declaring that one cannot “rock out” to her (why yes, I am doing sarcastic finger quotes above), all the while grillmaster Jordan spectacularly photobombs behind me.

And chillin’ with the birthday boy in his snazzy linen pants. Happy Birthday, Jordan!

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

may flowers watercolor racerback & skinnies

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  May 16, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    Your hair looks adorable Cara!

    Reply
  • 2. Mom  |  May 16, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Just like the rest of you!

    Reply
    • 3. Cara  |  May 16, 2010 at 8:36 pm

      Aww, thanks! What can I say – good genes. ;)

      Reply
  • 4. everydayChicNY  |  May 17, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Loving the dress!

    Reply
    • 5. Cara  |  May 17, 2010 at 8:11 am

      thanks! simple but comfy & fun. :)

      Reply
  • 6. Kat  |  May 17, 2010 at 7:58 am

    I actually have what I believe is the same dress in a more bluey print (didn’t see it featured under the alternate styles link, but I did get it at Target) and I’ve been wearing a denim jacket with it also. Supercomfy. I’ll be taking a page out of your book as far as accessorizing in the future, because I never found a necklace that looked right with it.

    Reply
    • 7. Cara  |  May 17, 2010 at 8:13 am

      They have a lot of cute springy dresses right now. Glad you like the accessories – I thought the pendant on this chain was slightly too long, but it was all I had at the moment.

      Reply
  • 8. power cord « here's looking at shoes, kid  |  September 29, 2010 at 10:35 am

    […] Mossimo (size M – featured previously here), tights: Simply […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,820 hits since 12/29/2009

