may flowers

May 14, 2010 at 9:19 am 4 comments

T.G.I.F. am I right? Has this week felt incredibly long for anyone else? At least it’s sunny and lovely today, unlike the past few dreary, wet days we’ve had in Chicago. To celebrate, some silken flowers shall I sport:

Cropped, textured jacket: Mossimo, silk dress & green tights: Simply Vera.

Bit of a funny story about this dress, which I found on the clearance rack at Kohl’s for $20 and, yes, is essentially the same as this dress and this dress, except for the sizes, which I’m getting to (and the belt, which is the same elastic grey bow as this dress). The previous dresses are size 4, and I only saw a few of this one in size 16, which I tried on anyway because, hey, you never know! Maybe with a belt… Yeah, no. Ridiculously large on me. Then I saw a girl and her mom heading into the fitting rooms with – you guessed it! – the dress! I peeped in with my size 16 dress as the girl came out in something else and said, “Excuse me, I have to ask, did I see you come in with this dress?” She was about to try it on, she said. “Could I ask what size it is? I only saw a couple.” She said it was a 10. “If it doesn’t work for you, could you let me know?” She said sure, and clearly, it didn’t work for her! “It looks much better on you!” she said as I sought feedback from my friends Kari, Christina, and Alicia.

The other differences between this dress and my other two are that this one doesn’t have a brooch, and it also has an elasticized empire waist (the others simply hang). Because of the height of the waistline, I actually was worried it might make me look pregnant, so I asked Alicia, who said it didn’t. She also – love this! – noted that it has the color blocking that I love so much, and with that, I had to smile in agreement and get it. :)

And then I kind of continued the blocking with the green tights. I was going to wear my beloved booties with this, but they didn’t look right – maybe it was the green tights. So I wore my new heels that Jenny and I both scored on super sale in Colorado:

I give you the Michael Kors Artisan Pump (size 9). I had only tried them on a few brief times, while Jenny noted they rubbed a bit in the toe. She was right. They do. The heel height is divine, but the rubbing kinda sucks. Maybe it’s a matter of breaking them in… hopefully! Because they are CUTE as heck: black + patent + cutouts + studs?! That’s a recipe for sass if I ever heard one!

Speaking of sass…

Faux turquoise earrings: Presence boutique, faux crystal necklace: American Eagle.

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

hair poll navy baby

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  May 14, 2010 at 10:56 am

    cute shoes! the rubbing does suck, but i lasted about 5 hours in them before they started to really rub so i think that’s still acceptable :)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  May 16, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      I might need some moleskin or something. Boooo!

      Reply
  • 3. Erinn  |  May 14, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Love it! Damn cutest heels eva. NGL. WANTS.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  May 16, 2010 at 8:02 pm

      thanks!! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,201 hits since 12/29/2009

