mile-high style

May 3, 2010 at 4:22 pm 9 comments

Greetings from Denver!

After my flight was canceled on Friday night due to some nasty Chicago thunderstorms, I finally made it here Saturday morning after many tears and frustrations passed. A special thanks to my friend Jamie for rescuing me from – and driving me back to – O’Hare. I really didn’t want to spend 2 hours on the CTA getting home, just to sleep for a few hours and have to get up at 4 am in time to spend another 2 hours going back to O’Hare with an hour to spare for security to make my rescheduled 7:25 am flight. Bleh! No thank you!

It all worked out, though, and I made it to the Mile-High City with plenty of time for Elizabeth’s 5:00 wedding at Red Rocks. I’m staying with my good friend Jenny (whom I’ve known since kindergarten and have been friends with since middle school!), and we made a stop at Macy’s before getting ready. Shoes were purchased – and a dress for Jenny as well for a black tie wedding this summer – and then it was back home to beautify!

How do you think we did?

Jenny was in a green dress by Connected Apparel – very shiny, chic, and wedding-appropriate – while I was in my magical Anthropologie dress by Girls from Savoy (size 4 – I DON’T KNOW HOW THIS HAPPENED; I told you it was magical), the Traced Twirls dress:

Love the retro feel of this dress, and the halter is a near-universally flattering style on most women. It also has stretchy panels in the sides, which is why I think I was able to fit into a size 4 (which was all that was left in the store I went to, and I only tried it on at the insistence of the saleswoman) – much to my elated surprise, it fit! Naturally I added a pop of color in the shoes, these being my red patent Nine West peep toes, which are holding up remarkably well and are just as comfy as ever.

The dress is also quite comfy – and perfect for TWIRLING!

You can see a hint of the salmon ruffle underneath, giving it almost a sort of petticoat feel. In a good way! Oh, and here’s the White House Black Market shrug.

And just for fun, here are the killer Michael Kors heels Jenny and I ended up getting on serious clearance at Macy’s:

They’re called the Artisan pump, and they were on clearance for 30% off, plus an extra 25% off with Macy’s friends & family sale, PLUS another 20% to Jenny for opening a Macy’s card – phenom!

The wedding didn’t end up being outside because it was slightly too windy (and the conditions were too chilly for the musicians to play in), but Red Rocks sure was lovely anyway!

Jenny and I were also running late, thanks to an unexpected road detour, but we walked in and saw the groom, so we figured that was a good sign! “Everybody’s running late,” he said. “Two of my brothers aren’t here yet.” Oh, happy day! I was so afraid we’d miss the big walk down the aisle!

Robert, the groom, who thinks my blog is boring. Well, that’s unfortunate, buddy, ’cause I was going to compliment you. TOO BAD! But thanks for providing me more “boring” content! :)

And now, random shots from the day:

Elizabeth, the beautiful bride

Bride & groom with his & hers cupcakes

Lovely table setting & delicious cupcakes

First dance

Eating a cupcake Lady & the Tramp-style

Upon noticing we were wearing matching rings – our engagement photo

In addition to being really fun, this was probably the most intimate wedding I’ve ever been to – there was literally not a dry eye in the place once these two began reciting their own vows (though I started tearing up as soon as a watery-eyed Elizabeth walked down the aisle). From the readings to the location – which seemed like it was always planned exactly as it was inside – to the circle of close friends and family, it was them to a T, and I’m so glad I was able to be a part of it.

Congratulations, Elizabeth & Robert!

Entry filed under: Events, Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

$10 highlights coupla cool greys

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy M.  |  May 3, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    LOVELY!

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  May 6, 2010 at 11:39 am

      thank you! <3

      Reply
  • 3. Mom  |  May 3, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    You girls look sooo beautiful!! Love your hair color too! Elizabeth looked stunning as well!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  May 6, 2010 at 11:40 am

      Thanks, I think the hair color is a bit too brassy. :\ Oh well.

      Elizabeth definitely looked stunning. Gorgeous!

      Reply
  • 5. browneheather  |  May 3, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    yay red rocks! that room is where the VIP bar is at Monolith :)

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  May 6, 2010 at 11:41 am

      I’d never been before! All of it was really lovely. I loved how they built the visitor’s center around some of the rock.

      Reply
  • 7. Kat  |  May 6, 2010 at 10:40 am

    That is some epic twirl.

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  May 6, 2010 at 11:42 am

      Will forgive use of the word “epic” in complimentary circumstances. ;) Thanks!

      Reply
  • 9. a royal wedding party! « here's looking at shoes, kid  |  April 30, 2011 at 1:22 am

    […] borrowed my “Traced Twirls” Anthropologie dress by Girls from Savoy (size 4), while I wore a Nine West dress (size 8) and super cute gloves from […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,820 hits since 12/29/2009

