$10 highlights

April 30, 2010 at 12:11 am 2 comments

Since I’m headed to Colorado Friday night for my friend Elizabeth’s wedding – she of the shower and bachelorette party these past few weeks – I did a few pre-wedding beauty rituals tonight, which included a quick & dirty (and rather sloppy) mani/pedi (Sally Hansen Complete Manicure Collection in Plum Luck) and some drugstore box highlights. Yeppo! What can I say – I’m a girl on a budget. Or something.

After grabbing L’Oreal Frost & Design highlights in Champagne, I decided to do the cap tonight because I just didn’t feel blonde enough all over, especially with the warm weather approaching, and that method really evens out your color.

Plus it is just dead sexy, am I right?

Pulling thousands of pieces of hair through the cap is really, truly, a lot of work. It takes a long time and can be very tricky & frustrating.

The result…

I’m pretty pleased!

Taking off the cap and seeing all of what looks like a giant mass of white hair always induces momentary panic that lasts until you rinse and shampoo and tone and comb it out. (Speaking of toner, this is the first at-home highlight kit I’ve bought that comes with toner – nice touch & hopefully helpful!)

It’s definitely spotty & stripey in some spots – especially around the hairline, haha  ha.. ha… . ahem – but I’m pretty satisfied with my $10 investment.

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup. Tags: .

dressed & reporting for duty mile-high style

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andrea  |  April 30, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    You somehow pull off the synchronized swimmer look … well, swimmingly, haha! Love the highlights too, btw :)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  May 3, 2010 at 12:09 pm

      Haha, yes! I can totally see myself in some old musical dressed like this in the pool and ready to ~gracefully strut my stuff in the water! ;)

      Thanks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,360 hits since 12/29/2009

