dressed & reporting for duty

April 29, 2010 at 10:24 am 12 comments

This is one of my favorite looks. I feel like a 1940s USO girl in it, and thus I call it my USO girl dress – I’ve got creativity for DAYS, I tell you!

Dress: OC by OC (size 12) purchased at TJ Maxx. No, those are not pleats in the front – it somehow did not lay flat in my closet and got a wee bit wrinkled. Yes, I decided to wear it anyway.

It fits me pretty fantastically and is great for my shape. I adore the attached belt (the tail of which I pin down, so it’s not flopping around), the collar, the trim, the epaulets, and the buttons (detailed below).

Just throw me a hat, and I’m ready to put on a show for the boys, don’t you think? ;) Ok, so yes, I’m being a big nerd, and perhaps this look is a bit costume-y – which the hair and makeup only add to, I know – but it’s also a whole lot of fun! I don’t wear it terribly often, so hopefully it makes a statement when I do. It’s bold and eye-catching, and I think it also walks that line of being sorta sexy – yet I’m not showing any skin. I’m actually pretty covered up.

Yes, I returned to my red Steve Madden faux croc wedges again. I’ve said the round toe feels retro, plus you know how I love my pops of color, so it all comes together & works in this look for me.

Green, faux stone earrings: Target, Tiffany pendant: Mom – probably faux, but I don’t care ’cause it’s cute! You can also see a bit of the trim detail here. More below:

Collar, trim, epaulets – and the buttons are little flowers! Ugh, love.

To top it all off, my fave jacket – forecast is in the 70s today, so hopefully it delivers!

Beloved jacket: Guess, shades: Target.

Have a great day, everyone!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

peacocky potato $10 highlights

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jamie  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:27 am

    This is my favorite dress of yours, dontchaknow. ;)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:40 am

      I didn’t know, but that makes two of us! Well, I have a ton, so it’s tough to choose, but, like I said, it is def ONE OF my faves. :}

      Reply
  • 3. Jenny  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:30 am

    That dress is too cute! And yes, I think it’s definitely sexy, but not skanky, y’know? There’s definitely a difference.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:42 am

      I agree. Plus it’s largely – I think – about how something makes you feel & the attitude you project while wearing it. I definitely feel saucy in this. :)

      Reply
  • 5. Liz S  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Cara, I absolutely LOVE this dress! Nice find!

    Reply
  • 6. Bryan  |  April 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    I like it! You gonna go entertain our boys overseas as they try to overthrow Hitler? lol jk. Lookin’ good!

    Reply
    • 7. Cara  |  April 29, 2010 at 11:46 pm

      Haha, but of course! thanks! :)

      Reply
  • 8. Amy M.  |  April 29, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    You have a hot bod, esp. in that dress. Way to go. I once played a USO girl in a musical, and it was a blast (My costume wasn’t as stylish as your outfit though) so basically I fully support the USO mood.

    Also, way to be pale and still pull off a light tan dress. Love it.

    Reply
    • 9. Cara  |  April 29, 2010 at 11:47 pm

      mrawr, thanks! :} really it’s all about the clothes you wear, honestly – I dress my shape to (hopefully, usually!) maximize what I like, minimize what I don’t. It def helps!

      And thanks – it’s more a khaki-tan color in person, bordering on beige, but yeah, occasionally it did look pretty close to my skin color, eeps!

      Reply
  • 10. Kate  |  April 30, 2010 at 6:30 am

    LOVE it, and I wish 1940’s would come back. You look adorable!

    Reply
    • 11. Cara  |  May 3, 2010 at 12:10 pm

      Thank you! MEEE tooooo!

      Reply
  • 12. Martan Le Chien  |  May 7, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    Lovely… just lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 181,221 hits since 12/29/2009

