peacocky potato

April 28, 2010 at 12:10 pm 4 comments

I am one moody little potato today. Why a potato? I don’t know, maybe ’cause I’m lazy. It’s appropriate then that I’m wearing a piece of clothing I’ve had since high school, home to moody teenagers the world over. (I wasn’t moody in high school; I had fun. Nonetheless!)

Yes, I have had this peacock shirt since my days at Hononegah High. Christie McDonald (I forget her married name) had the pink version, while I went with the ~au naturel print. I think we even both wore them on the same day and laughed about it in Newspaper once. Oh, high school!

The sheer top (I have a Gap cami under it – LOVE Gap Body stuff, btw) is actually from The Limited (size L). The Limited! I know they still have really cute stuff, but right now I feel like this reference is dating me the way that the Contempo Casuals reference in Clueless immediately blares “1995.”

I still think the top is eye-catching and fun and unique, though, which is why I haven’t gotten rid of it in almost a decade. (A decade! Holy crap!) Cropped, metallic, textured jacket: Mossimo (size M), jeans: Calvin Klein (size 10), ring: amber ring from my grandma.

I wasn’t sure about the jacket over this top, to be honest, but it really functions more like a vest here, which… well, vests really have no function, so it’s just an extra layer to make it interesting. I needed something more with it, whether it was one of my really striking, bold necklaces or the jacket. I liked the feel of the jacket, so I went with it.

Tan, studded flats: Nine West.

Wooden cutout earrings: New York & Company, same old Illinois state quarter necklace: Jack Landstra – do you remember his name yet? ;)

This was, really, not the right necklace for this look. I did need something bolder, as I originally thought, because this one gets completely lost in the print. All my long pendant necklaces were too long, though, and would’ve competed with the jacket & buttons. I needed something in-between in length, but the only thing I really have is yesterday’s coin necklace… which I broke last night while taking it off! :( It’s not entirely BROKEN, but 2 tiny links pulled apart, which is easy enough to fix. If I had tiny, dexterous fingers, I could maybe fix it myself… but I gave up after about 2 mins of fussing with it. Mrah!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

old look, new necklace & a boots how-to to boot dressed & reporting for duty

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy M.  |  April 28, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    I am also a big fan of putting tanks under shirts from the 90s that are not long enough according to today’s style. Love the print on that thing – I don’t blame you for hanging onto it :-)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 29, 2010 at 10:44 am

      Oh good! I didn’t think the shirt looked dated, but I’m glad to hear you say it’s cute, too.

      And yes, to your below comment – I feel the same way about AE. I don’t usually end up getting a lot of clothing there, but lately their jewelry has been on point. Which is great because I used to feel that all their jewelry was equally kind of juvenile-hippie-peace-sign-flower-child crap. :)

      Reply
      • 3. Amy M.  |  April 29, 2010 at 8:32 pm

        Waaaaait a minute. Must correct my tank comment. I didn’t notice the border detail on the sleeve, and thought the gray on the bottom was the tank top you mentioned wearing underneath, and that the shirt stopped where the peacock pattern stops, a la the 90s midriff look.

  • 4. Amy M.  |  April 28, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Also, PS I still love American Eagle, even though I feel too old to shop there when I go in and realize all the clothes are built for prepubescent girls. Mrr.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,358 hits since 12/29/2009

