yellow & grey monday

April 26, 2010 at 10:42 am 2 comments

Since I felt like such a hot mess on my birthday – and photos live for eternity to remind me – and walked around all wet and gross for a large part of the weekend, I felt the need to dress cuter today in something that made me feel good about myself. I think I succeeded!

It’s nothing out-of-this-world special, but I just feel put-together and sunny and bright, which makes me project an equally bright and optimistic attitude. (Anyone who says clothes don’t matter is sorely mistaken, and I actually pity those who have never felt what clothes can do.) Top matching throw pillow was unintentional, but I left it in view for my amusement. :)

The yellow and grey floral tank with watercolor-like print is actually American Eagle (size M) but was purchased at Filene’s for $8.99 – thanks, Mom! Oatmeal, sequin-trimmed cardigan: Express.

Dark-wash trouser jeans: Mossimo from Target (size 10). I recently Tweeted that I forgot how much I love these trouser jeans – probably because I’ve been stuck in a skinny-jeans rut for so long – but they’re so comfortable, not to mention flattering, if I do say so myself. Love the back pockets.

You know how I love the sophisticated pairing of cool grey and bright yellow, and I thought teal was a good pop with it, so I went with my $9 Urban Outfitters flats and…

…of course, my teal earrings from Presence again. It’s not my fault they go with EVERYTHING! Here you can see the tank’s embroidery detail at the neckline, too. And the necklace and sailor knot bracelet are also from American Eagle. Geez, I’m like a walking advertisement today, except not ~beachy-sexy enough, I’m sure.

Also what do you think of the hair? I kinda let the blow-dryer do its own thing today, and this is what happened. It’s parted on the opposite side that I used to do back with the full swoopy bangs, and while these aren’t fully ~side-swept, I think it looks ok. But is it a little too First Lady? Or too anchorwoman? Hmmm…

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

turning 27 old look, new necklace & a boots how-to to boot

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SWF_Terra  |  April 26, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    I’ve been squeezed into skinnies for months now too. I think it’s because if we wear jeans outside of boots in the winter, they get soaked from ankel to mid-calf. These jeans are perfect for spring. Love the tank and the matching pillow. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 27, 2010 at 3:58 pm

      So true! That is the large appeal of skinnies for so long.

      The pillow is from Target! It was overpriced, but I could not resist. It’s yellow with grey flowers on one side and grey with yellow flowers on the other. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

