simple as it gets

April 23, 2010 at 8:47 pm 6 comments

When I said in my last post that I’d been feeling lazy/overwhelmed and dressing more casual lately, I really wasn’t kidding.

This is about as basic as it gets: brown floral waffle shirt (with black Mossimo tank underneath): Belle du Jour, jeans: Old Navy, sneakers: Converse Chuck Taylors.

Oh, I love my Chucks. If you can’t entirely tell, they are brown and pink (a color combo that I love), and the pink polka dots swirl in a heart pattern. Plus the trim is pink! I loved these so much but put off buying them for a long time. By the time I wanted them, I couldn’t find them anywhere in my size! But I did find a half size smaller on eBay. So I jumped on them. They start to rub one foot after a while, but they’re canvas, so they stretch more with each wear. I also have a navy pair in my actual size, but they’re just not as fun!

Earrings: New York & Company, and I layered 2 necklaces – the leaf from H&M, and my Illinois state quarter pendant by Jack Landstra. I’ve been doing this layering of necklaces semi-frequently because I just love the look. I also think a little more attention on my upper half helps to draw the eye upward and balance out my lower half, so that’s a plus.

Crap, man, I better get myself together for my birthday party tomorrow. If I’m gonna be casual, it’s gotta be more interesting than this!

Entry filed under: What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

black & white night @ the theatre turning 27

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mikhail  |  April 24, 2010 at 3:36 am

    Maybe it’s because I find you intimidating when wearing “adult” clothes, but you look good here. And wtf I normally love bangs, but you’re looking good as fuck. Just saying.

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 25, 2010 at 9:20 pm

      Um, thank you, whoever you are?

      Reply
  • 3. Jackie  |  April 24, 2010 at 9:02 am

    Dressing casual isn’t a bad thing – it’s a lot of effort to do a super planned outfit all the time. It’s good to keep fashion fun, so it’s better to dress more casual once in a while so that you don’t get burned out. And this is still a well put together comfortable look.

    That said, I’m a big fan of the layered necklaces look! I actually bought a longer chain for the sole purpose of moving pendants on and off shorter chains to longer ones depending on the look I’m going for. And I love the cut coin necklace! I am so planning on getting one of those. His foreign ones are pretty cool, like the Bahamas ten cent piece. A cut Walking Liberty coin would be pretty sweet, too.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  April 25, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      Oh no, I don’t think it’s a bad thing! I just feel like maybe it’s not always worth posting? But then skipping days isn’t good either!

      Yes, I’m so glad you’re getting one of the coin necklaces! My old roommate had a liberty one, and it was awesome (her dad made it) – that’s where I got the idea to look for some. Since I’ve been pimping out this guy’s etsy store, several of my friends have bought some. They’re SO beautiful. I can’t believe the work that goes into them! Let me know what you end up getting!

      Reply
  • 5. everydayChicNY  |  April 24, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    I like the casual vibe. Plus, it’s still all very put together. Happy Birthday too!!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  April 25, 2010 at 9:23 pm

      Thanks on both counts!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,822 hits since 12/29/2009

