black & white night @ the theatre

April 22, 2010 at 11:02 pm 4 comments

Don’t you just love making new friends? It’s so nice when you feel an unexpected kinship or connection right off the bat with someone who is immediately warm and inviting and fun to be around. This could not be more true of my charming new friend Tate, who needed a replacement Steppenwolf usher when our friend Jordan accidentally double-booked – oops!

A quick bite @ Landmark Grill (why hello, arugula salad) with my impressively-coiffed new friend and a free night at the ~theata? Just for greeting & directing people? Yes, please!

The only hitch was that, as ushers, we had to wear black and white. I came up with this simple idea pretty easily, but I’m not entirely confident I pulled it off.

Well, it’s not so much that I “didn’t pull it off” as much as I think the proportions are slightly off. The long boyfriend blazer with the long pencil skirt and flats is too much, and I think it weighs me down a bit – minimizes my height instead of maximizing it. Yes?

Still fun, though!

White boyfriend blazer & black sequin top: Miley/Max Azria, black pencil skirt: New York & Company Collection, rhinestone belt: Express.

Studded flats: Nine West. I had really wanted to wear heels tonight, but it’s good that I didn’t since, as an usher, you do a lot of standing. Plus, my pups are still healing from that stupid blister – almost good as new, though!

Black headband with bow: NY & Co., earrings… I cannot remember! Maybe Target?

This is pretty matchy-matchy for me, which I usually don’t do, but it was actually kind of fun to have to meet the challenge of dress code guidelines. I’m wondering if readers would maybe want to offer me challenges of their own to attempt. I haven’t been posting much this week for a variety of reasons (very busy with work but also a little intimidated by the silly blogging standard I’ve set for myself – and thus more casual), so I think it’d be fun if anyone has blog challenges to offer!

Also, please check out adorable Tate and his ~pomp:

The coat? Burberry. BUT I CUT OFF THE LOUIS VUITTON SHOES!! GAH! Poor, poor form, Cara.

PS: He is standing in front of the poster for 2 of the plays we ushered tonight. Great stuff – go check it out!

Entry filed under: Misadventures, What I Wore. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

bachelorette beauties simple as it gets

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenny  |  April 23, 2010 at 12:33 am

    all your friends are always wearing such ~fancy clothes/shoes. D&G, Louis, Burberry…i feel semi-inadequate ;)

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:10 am

      HA, my friends, not me! I feel just as semi-inadequate, don’t worry!

      Reply
  • 3. Amy M.  |  April 23, 2010 at 8:10 am

    I like it!
    You’d be proud of my black and white today. Cute black dress over a little white blouse – fancy but professional – give me an MA I look the part!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:10 am

      PICS

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 182,376 hits since 12/29/2009

