bachelorette beauties

April 18, 2010 at 2:40 pm 8 comments

Well! The you-pick-what-I-wear poll was a fun little experiment. I really did plan on wearing what YOU chose; however, I should’ve put a time frame on the poll. I feel bad that I didn’t end up in the winning look, but by the time I had to get dressed & going, there was a 3-way tie! It was between the zebra top & skinnies, the black ruffle dress, and the deep-V dress with medallion accents. So I simply had to just pick one.

I ended up choosing…

The black ruffle dress, yellow tights, and boots! I got a lot of feedback on how cute and fun this one was, and ultimately that’s what swayed me. I also felt this dress was more casual (and less “look at me!” – at a bachelorette party, everyone should be looking at the bride!) than the deep-V dress. While sometimes dresses make you fidgety, I’m actually really comfortable in them and think this was probably more comfortable all night than, say, my high-waisted skinny jeans would’ve been. You definitely start feelin’ that high waist after a while!

The dress is GO International (juniors size 11) from Target, where the black patent skinny belt was also purchased. Yellow tights: Gap, boots: Bandolino, purse: Liz Claiborne. I’ll have you know, this small, going-out purse caused me to lose the points-for-all-in-your-purse game! I would’ve owned that game had I had my usual big grey purse! BOO!

The grey-to-black gradient earrings (seen in previous pic) and necklace are the set from Burlington. And how do you like the makeup? I was pretty pleased. I never wear this much eye makeup – heck, I never even wear mascara on my lower lashes! Although maybe I went a little overboard on the bronzer. Oops!

Unrelated, my lake view has been pretty killer lately:

Click for larger sloppily Photoshopped panorama. :)

Back to business! The smoky eye was achieved with the following:

The majority of this look was done with the Maybelline Stylish Smokes set (04 Charcoal Smokes), except for the smokiest black shadow liner. I didn’t like the consistency/texture of the Maybelline black, so for that I used the super sparkly, soft & blendable black in the Victoria’s Secret VS Ultimate Smoky Eyes silky shadow palette (the same one used here). It definitely takes some work and is pretty messy – I practically gave myself a black eye in the process, hah! (See thumbnail at left.) I think it all turned out pretty well, though. (See thumbnail at right for super closeup.) It’s definitely a fun, going-out look I’ll do again.

But enough about me – check the bride!

Haha, little devil. ;) She looked gorge in her purple dress, and how cute are we in our tights? :)

Elizabeth really enjoyed her Elton glasses:

I think she had a good time, don’t you?

Entry filed under: Hair, Nails & Makeup, Misadventures, What I Wore, You Pick it. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

seeing red black & white night @ the theatre

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fabgeekling  |  April 18, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    You looked fabulous my dear. That lipstick color is hot on you.

    Reply
  • 3. Divadoll21285  |  April 18, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    I simply adore the tights. Fabulous. And such fancy makeup.

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  April 18, 2010 at 5:10 pm

      thanks! was pretty pleased with the makeup – it was fun!

      Reply
  • 5. Sue  |  April 18, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    OMG, your eyes look amazing! The ensemble is pretty hot too…kinda mod-glam!

    Reply
    • 6. Cara  |  April 18, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      I thought it felt kinda mod myself! Thaaanks. :)

      Reply
  • 7. SWF_Terra  |  April 18, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    I love the choice! And I certainly understand wanting to be comfy. Your make-up struck me almost immediately. I love the lip!

    Reply
    • 8. Cara  |  April 18, 2010 at 5:25 pm

      Yeah, the stupid blister still healing also played a roll. Thankfully my feet were mostly ok after walking from bar to el and then el to apartment!

      I keep talking about it myself, but yeah, the makeup was TOO fun! I don’t get so made up usually. Such a fun, sassy look!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 180,441 hits since 12/29/2009

