seeing red

April 17, 2010 at 12:18 pm 5 comments

In response to my last post (the results are pretty evenly spread out right now, so please go vote!), a few people got talking about colorful, hot heels – and Divadoll21285 and I discussed red shoes in particular. As I told her, for a while I became obsessed with the idea of red shoes, I think back in college. I didn’t have any, and it was my quest to get some. They are just bright and bold and strangely empowering. They add kick to any outfit and are, let’s face it, rather sexy.

I now own 4 pairs. Ahem.

But, like she said, you need different types of red heels for different occasions. It’s important! With that, I present you my red shoe collection…

First up, red patent peep toes:

My first pair, these pumps by Nine West have been featured on the blog a few times already. The patent & peep toe make them even saucier, I think. I got them at, I believe, TJ Maxx, where there were two pairs of red patent peep toes right next to each other: these and another pair from Guess – the difference being that those were much taller. While they were certainly hot, I definitely opt more for comfort, and these shoes are the perfect comfortable height. I’ve worn them to wedding receptions and danced the night away in them without taking them off once. Seriously, 2.5-inch heels are my ideal.

Next up, Steve Madden wedges:

I always forget that these are actually from the Steven by Steve Madden offshoot line (which I always seem to prefer). Anyhow, these faux croc wedges have also been featured before and equally praised for their height and comfort. I love the round toe and light wooden wedge – it makes them feel rather retro to me (as I noted here). Too cute.

Next up, beloved patent flats:

I have these xhilaration flats in 3 colors; and though it was a bit of work to make them comfortable (see lengthy description in this post if you care), I really do love them. They are SO cute and flattering. They somehow make your feet look cute and petite. As a size 9, that’s a plus.

And finally, the most fun of all…

Red and white polka dot peep toe wedges with bow by Sam Edelman – how much do you LOVE? These are a bit taller than I usually wear, and they do tend to wear a bit on the sides of my feet, but they are worth it – WORTH IT, I TELL YOU!

So do you have red or otherwise bright, fun, empowering shoes? Show me! Have you had a shoe quest such as this? I know I’m not the only one!

Entry filed under: Sales, Recs & Likes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

you pick what i wear bachelorette beauties

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Divadoll21285  |  April 17, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    I dress from the shoe up. I cannot help it like today I am sporting 6 inch platform peeptoe stillettos! Some people think i’m a stripper but Cara assures me it’s okay! Thank god

    Reply
    • 2. Cara  |  April 18, 2010 at 2:42 pm

      Hey, you said it, not me! :)

      Reply
  • 3. fabgeekling  |  April 18, 2010 at 10:44 am

    LOVEEEEE the polka dot ones! SOOOO FAB!

    Reply
    • 4. Cara  |  April 18, 2010 at 2:42 pm

      Aren’t they to die for?! Wish I had more opportunities to wear them, but I couldn’t resist buying.

      Reply
  • 5. lindsey  |  June 10, 2013 at 9:52 am

    where did you get the polka dot ones?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


20-something Chicagoan, pop culture lover, and graduate of the Clinton Kelly School of Fashion, sharing & snarking on shoes, frocks, jackets, patterns, textures, trends, celebs & more

Contact

hereslookingatshoeskid (@) gmail.com

Follow me on Twitter, kid!

Archives

Baby, one more time...

  • 183,822 hits since 12/29/2009

